Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have a feeling I missed a step or two somewhere, but I am not sure where. My rating is on the frustrations I had cooking alone (not on taste). First, it took me 2 and half/almost three hours (maybe making cupcakes before this was a bad choice). Go with the suggestions - grill and or roast those veggies. Second, I have no idea how someone fried the veggies in only 1 T of oil. I had to use a lot more than that. Finally, after all that work, I was only able to get one layer of each down. I think a 9x13 pan is too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Loved it! I used red potatoes, dry lentils, and rice milk. I had some trouble with the eggplant, zucchini, and potatoes sticking to the pan, but everything still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I am giving four stars only because it takes so long to make. The dish itself was amazing. When I first made this I didn't have much cooking experience and I was worried the entire time it was going to be terrible. I was very surprised at how good it was. The lentils give it an almost meaty texture, non vegetarians will not feel like they are missing a thing. Make this on a day when you really feel like spending some time cooking. Don't even attempt if you are already hungry cause it really does take a long time. Or make ahead of time. people are always wowed by this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Good recipe - not great, but will put in my dinner rotation. I would recommend anyone to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
was really bland. May try again but will definitely add more spice. I fried the vegetables and it took forever, will try roasting them next time like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
So delicious! A very balanced veggie meal that will knock even carnivores socks off. My husband and sister, who both despise eggplant and zucchini, had double servings! It was very time intensive to make, and mine turned out a little wet, but it was so good that I am still giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I made this for my roommate and a friend- both die-hard carnivores, and they loved it as well. I recommend using a can of lentil soup if you can't find canned lentils (it also adds more flavor), as well as using 3-4 red potatos instead of regular white ones- it's less starchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is delicious. I roasted all vegies in the oven. I didn't add lentils (forgot). Seasoned vegies good between layers and added some additional feta and grated parm to the bechamel sauce. I also used a smaller pan. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
As a lot of others have said, this was very time consuming but totally worth it! It is definitely one of the most delicious meals I have ever had, I even have a fussy four year old eating it. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
overall, this is a great recipe. I think that it's important to use yukon gold potatoes and make sure that they get crispy before putting them in the casserole dish. The other thing, add cinnamon (makes it taste like a greek recipe). To make more low cal, and not skimping on taste, I used half the feta. It still tasted great! Also, double the beschamel sauce--then it will be fluffy, like a real moussaka. With these changes, I will for sure be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbanSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States