Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
One of my favourite recipes on this site. I think about making it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Simple, Delicious, and flavorful! Im not a vegetarian but a friend made this and i loved it. She used this recipe so i made it at home and it was perfect! Definatly a great meal for even the meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imsomr
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
You will spend about an hour frying the vegies....I even started using 2 pans. I will definitely try baking them next time. I don't feel it is necessary to peel any of the vegetables. The eggplant seemed to suck up the olive oil - so go light. I used soy beans instead of lentil beans....I only used the juice from the tomatoes to simmer in....anymore liquid than that and the dish would have been too runny. The soy beans tasted awesome!! I'd be curious to find out how much adding cinnamon would add to the flavor....VERY good as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. It got rave reviews from everyone in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Lebanon, New York, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was incredible! I absolutely LOVED it and so did my hubby! I will make this again and again. The instructions are horrendous as other reviewers mentioned. It also does take a lot of time, but it's beyond worth it. I will probably add more eggplant and zucchini next time though it's fine the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good but yes, it took a long time to prepare. Needed a bit of salt and pepper at the end but very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This takes a lot of prep work, but is SO worth it. Next time I will use double the amount of eggplant and zucchini as I love the taste of these veggies roasted. This delicious recipe made a dinner and 3 days of lunches for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Good but not a fav...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I enjoyed this dish but I found the proportions weren't accurate for me. I ended up using an 8x11 dish and that fit everything perfectly. I also didn't find that I had enough "tomato mixture" to drip over the vegetables from the onion mixture, but maybe I did something wrong? Being some one who likes spice and robust flavor, I also wished this had just a little bit more of a kick to it... Perhaps some more spice. I will definitely use this recipe again (when I have the time to use it) but will probably investigate some other Moussaka recipes to see what types of spices might go well. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was very good and not nearly as complicated as it appears. I took the advice of a couple of other cooks and oven roasted the eggplant, zucchini, and potatoes first andI put all the feta cheese on top. I also cooked up lentils instead of using canned ones. Mine moussaka was very firm and cut nicely. My 2 teenagers even liked it!! SCORE! We will have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States