Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Judging by the other reviews I must've done something very wrong. The veggies were mushy, the flavor was bland and it took forever. I definitely won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
If you follow the directions, this recipe takes FOREVER to make. I was making 4xrecipe so it should have taken some extra time but it took something like 6 hours start to finish to cook everything separately. I'm not sure why everything can't just be baked together. It was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is excellent. I grew up eating my Yia Yia's lamb moussaka, but became a vegetarian years ago. This doesn't taste quite like hers, but it's still delish. To cut some fat/save some time, I roast the vegetables instead of frying them. I also use lemon juice instead of vinegar and omit the tomatoes from the lentil mixture (they might be tatsy, but Yia Yia's moussaka never had tomatoes in it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
cooked it once loved it now i cook it all the time for dinner parties. its a huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This had good flavor, but the labor was intense and the proportions were grossly inadequate for a 9x13 casserole. No where near enough to repeat layers, let alone create one complete layer of each. Grilling or broiling the vegetables will be a time saver next time. Using a smaller casserole or doubling all ingredients is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was an amazing dish! Planning on making it again for a date night but with more experience around the kitchen I should be able to shave off some of the time in preparing it. I did make a few changes. I used soy milk instead of cows milk and omitted the salt. The potatoes were not specified so I chose red potatoes. This way there was less peeling involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
The flavor of this dish is mild and understated. I made a few alterations, based on what I had at home. I had no potatoes, so I augmented with extra lentils (a whole can instead of half) Otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. The taste was good, the texture was fine (the vegetables were VERY soft, probably due to the fact they are browned/fried, then cooked for another hour total in the oven). I will be cooking this again, perhaps making some more changes to make it a little more flavorful (more oregano, more garlic, more onions...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I only give it four stars because it was a little sloppy, not firm. Absolutely delicious, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I should have reviewed this recipe long ago, as it is one of my favorites and I have made it 15-20 times since I found it. I have made it with several variations, as well. The proportions do seem a bit off to me as another reviewer suggested, as I feel like my layers don't always work out correctly. I have had better luck using 2 eggplants and 3 zucchini. I use only one potato ( it is delicious with sweet potato subbed as well) and just make one layer to cut carbs back a bit. I peel the eggplant and use a mandolin to speed up the slicing. I agree that spritzing the vegetables with non-stick spray and baking them is a much more time efficient and healthy way to prepare them than pan-frying. I have made this using lentils, but experimented with subbing a bag of veggie crumbles and found that I greatly preferred that. The bechamel topping is so delicious I think I could drink it. I use whole wheat flour and almond milk for that, and it is great. This recipe does take quite a while to prepare, especially the first couple of times, so it is not ideal to try it out if you are in a time crunch or impatient. The results are well worth the effort, though! As I said, one of my all time favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States