Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very tasty. Don't let the overall prep/cook time discourage you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This recipe is fabulous! It is delicious and hearty, even my non-veg friends rave about it. Though I think the prep time is off if you consider all of the browning part of the prepping, which I do. BTW: it freezes beautifully, so I always double or triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I did not care for this. The recipe takes a lot of time, and even though I followed the directions to a T, mine turned out very vinegary. It was overpowering for my pallet. Too much working against this recipe for me to ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Came out great, I followed other reviewers suggestions and used a mandolin to slice the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Made this tonight and it was my first time making a moussaka. It turned out better than I thought esp when I didn't have all the ingredients. Used 2 eggplants to replace the missing zucchini and omitted the feta cheese as I didn't have any on hand. Like some reviewers suggested, tossed the eggplant and potato with some peanut oil and roasted in the oven for 30 min at 450. About half way through the roasting, took it out & mixed it up so the top layer don't burn. It was pretty soft at this point so the pieces did break though in the end, it doesn't matter. Used rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. Used 2 tbsp of lentil juice instead of the suggested amount. The dish seem runny when I first pulled it out the oven but once it was left to settle, it was just right. As I was missing feta, I added salt to the tomato/onion mixture to ensure there is enough seasoning. Layered the baking dish with 1/3 mixed veg, arugula (had some on hand which I wanted to use), 1/2 tomato/onion mixture and repeat ending with the veg. Used 1/2 cup of parmesan to make up for the missing feta. The end product was a nice soft and tasty meal with some bread and butter. Great dish for adding more veg to one's diet. Next time I should make it with the feta cheese but we did save a bit of calories w/o adding it and it was still good. Thank you Anne for posting the recipe and everyone else for your reviews and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
is really good but too greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Thank you, this was soooo delicious. I made the eggplants slices in the oven, while I was doing the zuccini and I pre-cooked the potatos a bit in order to shorten the preparation and cooking time. Worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Wow was this recipe labor intensive. Soooo many steps and a ton of clean up. I even roasted all the veggies together in the oven instead of browning them all individually. The outcome wasn't bad but definitely not worth the effort. I kind of thought the bechamel sauce was going to settle into the veggies and make a creamy sauce so I bought a loaf of crusty bread to sop it up with. The bechamel baked on top though and there really was no sauce. I probably won't be making this again. I just don't have the time or energy for all of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was fantastic! I followed advice from previous reviews and roasted the vegetables. I used more potatoes, but I think you could add more of any of the veggies and it would still be great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States