Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have just made it. It took 2 hours, from start to ready to eat. I also roasted the veggies in the oven for 30min. I should have sliced them more thickly, as the aubergine and courgette kind of melted away for being so thinly sliced. I used grated cheese - some kind of cheddar - instead of feta - as I didn't have it - it probably got richer, but rather yummy. All in all it was very nice, as my husband pointed out. It was the first time cooking and eating moussaka and I really enjoyed. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent taste. My husband made this recipe for us, and it seemed pretty labor intensive. He was getting pretty stressed out when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I did roast the veggies. It was a process, but so good, definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Good recipe. I added yogurt to replace 1/2 of the milk and I used fresh lentils. I also roasted the vegetables instead of frying them Very yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Currently waiting for this dish to cook. I'm sure it'll be delicious, however I was not impressed with the actual recipe. Some of the actual steps were't clear; for example, where did that extra onion to layer in the dish come from? Also, the tomatoey sauce was too runny, so had to be thickened up with corn starch. Unfortunately there was also not nearly enough vegetables to cover and and layer my 9 by 10 inch dish with. Lastly, I thought the instructions for layering were way to vague for a dish which relies on its layers. Hoping the taste of the dish will make up for the slightly sloppy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brownie2703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My family loved this this. My very picky 10 year old had seconds even though it was full of *gasp* vegetables. It was time consuming and a little in the expensive side to make but the results are so worth it. I did roast the veggies instead of frying just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
First time I made this using the pan-fry method and draining on paper towels, which took forever and made a huge mess. Still it came out great. I made it again only a week later and grilled the veggies in the oven on 425 for 15 min (watch closely). Took less than half the time and mess. Both times I used about a half cup of half and half in the sauce along with my 2% milk as we usually do not have any whole milk, also extra fresh parmesan- whole foods brand. Cooked for 23 min in convection oven. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The recipe is a true treasure, especially after the time-saving grilled eggplant and zucchini from Trader Joe's (2 bags). Otherwise, the recipe would have been too much prep time for a weekday. Start to cleanup, it was about 2 total hours of prep WITH the added time saver. I also subbed a block of tofu instesad of the lentils. I think the bonus were the dried herbs that I added from my garden, which added more flavor than the original: 2 tsp. rosemary, oregano, and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
So good! Need to double all the veggies to fill the pan though, but great! I never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very good. Doubled the recipe. Lovely subtle flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States