Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Really fabulous. Even my meat-loving husband had generous seconds! I cook quite a bit of mediterranean food, and this was delicious and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Made this last night & it was fantastic! I used a mandolin to slice the veggies and roasted them as other reviews suggested. I also used canned lentils, added fresh red bell pepper to the onion sauté and used diced fire roasted tomatoes with chilies in them which added a great kick and lots of flavor to the mixture. I added 1tsp. cinnamon and Greek seasoning to the lentil mixture. I doubled the Béchamel sauce since I was using a longer pan with less layers and added 1tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg to the sauce. It was not labor intensive just required lots of baking time. It smelled wonderful & came out delicious! This recipe is a keeper & I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe! Instead of frying the veg in a skillet, you can bake in the oven at 375 for about 30 min. Also used 2 eggplants, sliced lengthwise b/c you can never have enough eggplant! I used 2 cans chickpeas instead of lentils - I prefer the taste, color, and texture. Used large can (28 oz) of crushed tomatoes instead of whole and added some fresh basil to sauce mixture - adds the most amazing flavor! This is a great freezer recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
this was great! I roasted the veggies as other reviewers suggested and this was still very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this recipe today. I used baby bella mushrooms in place of the zucchini since i'm not a huge fan. It cam out pretty darn good. However, it took a ridiculous amount of time to make. It was difficult to brown all of those sliced vegetables on the stovetop, if I were to do it again, I might use the oven. The recommended amout of olive oil seeemed a bit unrealistic for all of those vegetables as well. Again, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I should have read the recipe more carefully before I started prepping because I didn't realize the tomatoes would be so crucial to this dish (I have to eliminate/substitute tomatoes from every dish I make to accommodate my boyfriend's allergy). Without the tomatoes it's more like any old casserole, but still delicious. I added some Bechamel between the layers to make up for the moisture missing from the tomatoes. It tasted like potatoes au gratin with some extra veggies. It was a really yummy dish and with the tomatoes I'm sure it would have tasted just like moussaka should. It was a fair amount of work and time consuming, but it's worth it. Also, I ended up with a lot of food. Expect lots of leftovers if you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Cooked this for a dinner party with vegetarians attending! They loooooved it....in addition to all of the other meat-eating guests. It was nice to serve one dish that everyone could enjoy (instead of multiple). My only complaint was that there wasn't any leftovers. I'll make more next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
it was good but not great. the eggplant and taters tuned an unappealing grayish color. It was a lot of prep time. Overall.......not so good it was worth the heavy prep time and unappealing color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I gave this dish 5 stars because it really tastes great. However, I did make a slight change: instead of frying the eggplant and the zucchini, I grilled them. And since I ended up with not enough eggplant and zucchini slices to actually have 3 layers, I suggest using one more eggplant and one more zucchini. Other than that, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was delicious! I used more feta and ended up using alot more oil. Next time I will try grilling the vegetables but dish was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscherer
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States