Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
So delicious! A very balanced veggie meal that will knock even carnivores socks off. My husband and sister, who both despise eggplant and zucchini, had double servings! It was very time intensive to make, and mine turned out a little wet, but it was so good that I am still giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I made this for my roommate and a friend- both die-hard carnivores, and they loved it as well. I recommend using a can of lentil soup if you can't find canned lentils (it also adds more flavor), as well as using 3-4 red potatos instead of regular white ones- it's less starchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is delicious. I roasted all vegies in the oven. I didn't add lentils (forgot). Seasoned vegies good between layers and added some additional feta and grated parm to the bechamel sauce. I also used a smaller pan. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
As a lot of others have said, this was very time consuming but totally worth it! It is definitely one of the most delicious meals I have ever had, I even have a fussy four year old eating it. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
overall, this is a great recipe. I think that it's important to use yukon gold potatoes and make sure that they get crispy before putting them in the casserole dish. The other thing, add cinnamon (makes it taste like a greek recipe). To make more low cal, and not skimping on taste, I used half the feta. It still tasted great! Also, double the beschamel sauce--then it will be fluffy, like a real moussaka. With these changes, I will for sure be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbanSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Would have given this five stars, if it didn't take me two days to make this recipe! But, it was very tasty and I would recommend this -- if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Really fabulous. Even my meat-loving husband had generous seconds! I cook quite a bit of mediterranean food, and this was delicious and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Made this last night & it was fantastic! I used a mandolin to slice the veggies and roasted them as other reviews suggested. I also used canned lentils, added fresh red bell pepper to the onion sauté and used diced fire roasted tomatoes with chilies in them which added a great kick and lots of flavor to the mixture. I added 1tsp. cinnamon and Greek seasoning to the lentil mixture. I doubled the Béchamel sauce since I was using a longer pan with less layers and added 1tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg to the sauce. It was not labor intensive just required lots of baking time. It smelled wonderful & came out delicious! This recipe is a keeper & I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe! Instead of frying the veg in a skillet, you can bake in the oven at 375 for about 30 min. Also used 2 eggplants, sliced lengthwise b/c you can never have enough eggplant! I used 2 cans chickpeas instead of lentils - I prefer the taste, color, and texture. Used large can (28 oz) of crushed tomatoes instead of whole and added some fresh basil to sauce mixture - adds the most amazing flavor! This is a great freezer recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euless, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
this was great! I roasted the veggies as other reviewers suggested and this was still very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States