Vegetarian Moussaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Really tasty dish but I will take the advice given below and grill all the veggies in one go rather than pan frying bit by bit which took forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisling Cullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was a big hit with my family! The only adjustment I made was to bake the veggies brushed with olive oil to make it a healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very good, but definitely very time-consuming as written. In the future, to save time, I will steam the sliced veggies in the microwave and add them in, not fry individual slices (except for special occasions, because it does add a yummy, albeit more fattening, touch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I've never had any luck with recipes, I thought I was a lost cause. This was super easy to make, although time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is going in the 'keeper' file! My 13 yo ds had 3 huge servings! I made a few minor changes. Left out the lentils. (I didn't have canned and didn't plan enough time to use dry.) Used ACV instead of white vinegar. Fresh tomatoes and oregano. Cornstarch instead of flour to make it gluten free. And lastly, I used a 6 cheese Italian blend rather than just Parmesan. I usually create shortcuts, skipping steps. This time I did not and I'm glad. The results are definitely worth the extra steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I added an egg to the filling and skipped the egg from the bachamal sauce. Added some cinnamon and wine to the filling. Skipped the potatoes. Wow. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
The end result was flavourful and family gave positive reviews. As many others have done I grilled (broiled) the veggies and found by the time they were slightly browned there were almost cooked so I knew they wouldn't have to be baked as long as recipe called for. I also cut my veggies, esp the eggplant and zucchini fairly thick as I wanted to be able to distinguish individual tastes and didn't want it too mushy. Basically I baked it for about 10 min while I was making the sauce, then added sauce and cooked till brown. The end result was nice and firm and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I substituted the potatoes for sliced pork chops. Not a big vegetarian fan so the meat was a great sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very tasty, when it was finally done. I have a few suggestions. 1) Instead of frying the veggies, roast (broil) them in the oven. This can be done in 2 five-minute sessions, doesn't get the vegetables all saturated with oil (much healthier), and is quicker. Just brush with olive oil, lay out on large roasting pan (with a rack is perfect) and brown. 2) two potatoes? I found the quantities in this recipe too imprecise - you have to have made it once to know how much of everything to use. But of course you can adjust quantities to suit your taste. 3) In step 5, you say "saute onion and garlic in reserved oil.." You could saute eggplant in 2 cups of olive oil and there will be none left over! 1 Tbsp. olive oil is only enough for step 5 alone. 4) A pinch of nutmeg isn't enough - more like a tsp. 5) In step 6, you say to layer the onions in with the potato, eggplant, zuccini and feta, but the onions have already been simmered in with the lentils and tomato. Were we supposed to take them out? Anyway - came out well, but required some tweaks and took a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Delicious recipe. Mushrooms would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States