Vegetarian Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I did not want to have a lot of clean up this evening so I made this in the crockpot and it was very good. I did add a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon in addition to the stick and 3tsp of cumin instead of 2 and a bit more water(as previous reviews suggested). I did not have potatoes so I did not use any and used 2 cans of chick peas to make it meatier. Delish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Carb-loaded comfort food. My husband and I prefer spicy dishes with complex flavors. Even after adding generous amounts of dried hot peppers to our individual servings, this was a relatively uninteresting dish. If (that's a pretty big if) I were to make this again, I would use more flavorful veggies. Perhaps carrots and cauliflower in addition to the butternut squash. Golden raisins would also be a nice touch. And if you're not a vegetarian (I'm not), I'm sure chunks of stewed beef would do a lot for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hunter
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I like it, nice clean taste, but I have to say there is something missing. Maybe add some tomato paste, or some other personal tweak. I bet you could sub the Butter Nut Squash with Sweet Potato. To get all the ingredients was a little expensive. I'm going to give it a shot again one of these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I currently live in Israel and we recently signed up for weekly deliveries from an organic vegetable farm from up north. When they brought us a ton of potatoes and a huge butternut squash, I had few ideas about what to do with it...this was delicious and filling! I had no olives on hand (yes, embarassing to admit, living in this country), but it was tasty without it as well! I also used a bit of ground cinnamon instead of the stick, and I think it added the right amount of flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessica777
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
i made this for my husband and he really liked it. he is not a big fan of exotic foods. however this went over well. changes: i used regular potatos rather than red potatos. i added one extra cup of vegetable broth in addition to the 2cups. i used the cinnamin stick but also added 1/2 TBSP of cinnamin. i also added one extra TBSP of ground cumin. i used 1TBSP of pepper and 1/2 TBSP of salt. i used only 1/2 the ammount of olives because my husband doesnt care for them. but i think he actually liked them in this dish. i bought plain, pitted olives in water and sea salt, so they were mild in flavor. i also added a bit of the olive juice to the stew just for added flavor. i still feel like it could have used something more, but overall it was a great new recipe to try and i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great recipe! I ate mine over white rice and left out the olives. All of my friends and even my husband loved this hearty vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME! Not only did everyone in our family love it (even the pickiest eaters), but I recommended it to a friend, and her family loved it, too. Some suggestions: use fresh mint instead of cilantro as a topper. Use brown rice instead of couscous (especially with the left overs, when you run out of couscous, as we did!) I doubled the recipe and had so much left over, we were eating it for at least a week. Note for meat eaters: you can add meat if you like, but trust me, no one will miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Yummy! Olives, lemon, yogurt and cilantro really finished it off nicely. The only problem was the potatoes took much longer than 20 minutes to cook. Next time I will sautee them first before anything else, or microwave them first...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Tasty and pretty easy to whip up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very good for a cold night. Plus it makes a lot that you can save for the next day. This is a perfect way to feed someone veggies... my bf didn't know it was vegetarian until the third helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States