Vegetarian Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Overall, a good solid dish. I would hit it w/ some sweetness; like adding, raisins, dried apricots, or a raisin-onion relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbanSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was pretty good but you do need to kick up the spices IMO. It was a little bland to me, but I still gave it 5 stars because I did not add the couscous. It may have been heartier with that. I did add cauliflower and spinach though, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The house smells delicious! I didnt have canned tomatoes, so i used two cans of tomato paste. Turns out the stew was rich and thick!!!! Loved it on a bed of couscous or quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOYGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great starting recipe. I added a carrot, few sprigs of thyme, 2 bay leaves a cup more vegetable stock and a teaspoon or so of tumeric. I omitted the topping. I prefer this as a soup rarther on top of the cous cous mainly because when i put it on the couscous it lost its flavour because the veggies didnt have the chance to absorb all the flavour in the short cooking time, but as a soup / stew alone it is yummy! It is one of those recipes I will make again because I always have those ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up some butternut squash. I like Moroccan food so I thought I would give this a try. I substituted 1/2 cup of raisins for half the olives to give this some sweetness as Moroccan dishes usually have. I found I needed to add more cumin and some ground cinnamon along with the cinnamon stick because it was bland. I also didn't like the potatoes in this. I've never had potatoes in a Moroccan or Middle Eastern dish and they threw off the texture and flavor of the dish for me. To keep this vegan, I skipped the yogurt and added toasted pine nuts. I also substituted mint for the cilantro. Overall, not a "wow" in our family. We'll finish the leftovers but I won't be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
A good, easy to fix meal for working families. The cilantro was a nice touch; I might omit the olives in favor of raisins next time. My wife and young teen both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was pretty good. Next time I will cut the recipe in half because there was so much! I will also halve the olives, per my personal preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
My 1.5 year old LOVES this dish!! Great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very nice easy and inexpensive, and healthful, vegetarian dish. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Stew was hearty and savory just like stew should be. You can easily adjust the recipe or make leftovers last longer by adding pine nuts, golden raisins, etc. My couscous was bland and stuck together. So, when making more for leftover stew, I sauteed minced garlic in 3 tbsp. olive oil, then added the water, brought to a boil, and added couscous. The couscous had garlic-olive oil flavor, and had much better texture than the first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States