Vegetarian Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This tasted wonderful. Like most, I used 1/2 - 1/2 ketchup and BBQ in the actual loaf. I only added a few tbsp of BBQ on top after 45 min and baked for another 15-20 min. Never set. I would recommend another binding agent. Maybe some mashed potatoes or flour? Not setting was my only qualm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenden Hess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe with my own changes of course. No offense to the poster but I do that with every recipe. I used Morningstar Farms crumbles and JD steakhouse BBQ sauce. I basically doubled it with half ketchup and half BBQ sauce. I also followed someone else's suggestion and cooked it for 45 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houlton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This dish was excellent! I used Yves ground round vegan crumbles and Sweet Baby Rays bbq sauce. I added twice the amount of seasoning, plus oregano. I omitted the cheese. I used dry bread crumbs and I didn't use BBQ sauce to top, instead we used ketchup as we needed. Oh the way to get it to set is to cook at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. I cooked it in a rubber bundt pan. It was a beautiful ring loaf!! Very impressive and held up perfectly. I will post pics next time as it was eaten way to fast my family got three helpings!!! Great stuff thanks for the recipe! It is a keeper! Next time I will make it totally vegan with egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKASOONER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
A great way to please the vegetarians in your house. It smells as good as it tastes (which is a good thing). And it was easy to make (major plus for me)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt jemima

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
The taste was very good. I used Open Pit bq sauce, which is on the sweet side. The only problem I have is the consistency. It was really soft and mushy, which was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Awesome! My meat loving husband and step-father gave this rave reviews yesterday! I agree with those who thought the barbecue sauce on the top was a little overwhelming, I'll probably only use 1/2 next time. Added about a cup of corn and a few ounces of diced cheddar cheese to punch it up. Overall, just a really yummy, really easy, relatively healthy dish that will definitely become a staple in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shirley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I've done this before. Sometime fresh bread soaked in milk and thoughly mixed through makes it hold better. Also, I used Mrs. Dash and italian herb mix in the meatloaf and tomatoe sauce instead or barbeque. Topped and baked with herbed ketchup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Good flavor, but unfamiliar, "gloppy" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Surprisingly good. I mixed 6 ounces of ketchup with 6 ounces of barbque sauce. Allow it to cool off before attempting to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
LOOOOVED IT! But made it with ketchup after reading varying reviews of BBQ sauce use. Made it for a potluck. Some people didn't see the "vegetarian" sign and were surprised when I told them it wasn't real meat. I had to cook it for an extra 20 mins for it to set properly, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States