Vegetarian Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was great, but I think I will sub ketchup for the bbq sauce next time. I miss the more savory taste and it was a bit sweeter than I would have liked. My 2 year old and vegetarian husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was the first culinary failure of 2010 for me. As many other reviewers, my "meatloaf" never set up. It remained the consistency of somewhat dry sloppy joes, even after baking an extra 15 minutes. Perhaps the recipe needs to specify a specific brand of faux crumbles and whether or not the crumbles should be thawed first. In addition, bbq sauces come in several different consistencies. Some are very thin (open pit) and some are very thick (chunky style). Perhaps I would try the recipe again if there were more direction in those couple of areas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe! We used a 14 oz tube of Smart Ground Veggie Beef crumbles and Baby Rays bbq sauce. Probably 4-6 oz of that in the mix and half ketchup and bbq sauce on top. We also cooked it at 350. We used a spicy bbq sauce on top as we ran out of the Rays. We followed the rest of the recipe. In our family some loved it, some liked, and one of our kids didn't like it, but it he ate it all and left his mashed potatoes, so I'm guessing he liked it. As a vegetarian this is something we haven't tried before, but everything about it was great for a cold winter night. Definitely will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe is great! I have a family of four vegetarians to cook for, two of them are really big guys, so I'm always looking for something hearty, healthy, filling, and easy for me. This recipe will become a regular in our house, but next time I will try what one reviewer suggested and use half ketchup, half the amount of BBQ sauce. I think that will make it better, the BBQ sauce was a little much for myself and for my daughter, although the guys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The flavor was pretty good, although if you aren't NUTS about bbq sauce you may want to half the mixture with ketchup. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground cayenne pepper for some extra flavor without making your mouth catch fire. I don't know what i did wrong because with the exception of the cayenne I followed the recipe exactly and it still ended up mush. My family ended up eating it like sloppy joes. Maybe if I try this one again I'll use much less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemperFiCookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thought it was great. Will try it again. Think I may have over done it on the BBQ sauce but want to try it again before I make that final determination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Cooked this last night for my family and the loved it! My 15 year old granddaughter and husband thought it was delicious, went back for seconds, and ate the leftovers. Used crumbled up Boca Burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This tasted wonderful. Like most, I used 1/2 - 1/2 ketchup and BBQ in the actual loaf. I only added a few tbsp of BBQ on top after 45 min and baked for another 15-20 min. Never set. I would recommend another binding agent. Maybe some mashed potatoes or flour? Not setting was my only qualm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tired Mom [tries to cook]

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe with my own changes of course. No offense to the poster but I do that with every recipe. I used Morningstar Farms crumbles and JD steakhouse BBQ sauce. I basically doubled it with half ketchup and half BBQ sauce. I also followed someone else's suggestion and cooked it for 45 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houlton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This dish was excellent! I used Yves ground round vegan crumbles and Sweet Baby Rays bbq sauce. I added twice the amount of seasoning, plus oregano. I omitted the cheese. I used dry bread crumbs and I didn't use BBQ sauce to top, instead we used ketchup as we needed. Oh the way to get it to set is to cook at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. I cooked it in a rubber bundt pan. It was a beautiful ring loaf!! Very impressive and held up perfectly. I will post pics next time as it was eaten way to fast my family got three helpings!!! Great stuff thanks for the recipe! It is a keeper! Next time I will make it totally vegan with egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKASOONER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States