Vegetarian Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Please make sure that, if you really want a 'vegetarian' dish, make sure that the Parmesan is actually vegetarian (MOST CHEESES ARE NOT VEGETARIAN). That aside, this wasn't too bad with a few substitutes (I used reconstituted TVP instead of the more expensive crumbles), left out the parmemsan, and bell pepper (nothing wrong w/bell pepper - I don't care for it :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I liked the taste of this recipe. It was delicious. The reason I gave it 3 stars is because it did not have the consistency of meatloaf - meaning it didn't hold together at all. I will cook this again, but will serve it as sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon Roll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My whole family really liked this recipe- even my carnivorous- closed minded parents really liked it it turned out a little mushier than I would have liked to see - next time I may add more bread crumbs really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Thank you for this great recipe! I am vegetarian (not vegan, yet!) and missed some of those comfort foods I grew up on. I did change one thing which was that I did not use any BBQ sauce. Most are far too sweet and I didn't want that kind of flavor. My mom always used tomato sauce so I used an 8 oz. can of organic tomato sauce mixed with 4 oz of organic ketchup. I used half in the mixture and half on top. SO delicious!! I think I'd even use a little more sauce in the mixture though. I cooked it in the toaster oven at 325 for like 30 minutes then 15 more w/sauce on top. It didn't come out very firm but it tasted really good. Even my non-veggie boyfriend loved it. I'd say for a firmer "meat"loaf add a second egg. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gmcknight
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Use red and yellow peppers for a milder taste. I used KC Original Barbecue Sauce. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
VERY disappointed... My meat loaf didn't turn into a loaf! It was just a pan full of mush... I even baked it for an extra 45 minutes. If I were to make this recipe again (which I probably wont), I'd probably add more breadcrumbs and/or drain the liquid from mincing the vegetables. On the other hand, the mush tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Recipe calls for WAY too much BBQ sauce, and to be honest meatloaf isn't supposed to have BBQ sauce in/on it anyway (eggs make it moist enough, and ketchup should be put on top - that's how they do it in Ohio!). I found this recipe to be too sweet and taste like pure BBQ sauce. Also, the oven timing is way off, needs to be in oven MUCH longer to set - I added about 40 minutes onto the end and it still didn't end up setting until it was refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeezlouise2012
Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
2 hours later and it still has not set up!!!! I have made many recipes off this site, this is the first failure. I even used less sauce and cooked it on 350 for the first 45 min.. What i tasted was great, to bad its not edible. I'll try again in the future but I might precook the morning star crumbles and bell pepper to remove some of the moisture first and cook it at higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Parmesan IS NOT vegetarian. Not because of dairy but because of enzymes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States