Vegetarian Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Recipe calls for WAY too much BBQ sauce, and to be honest meatloaf isn't supposed to have BBQ sauce in/on it anyway (eggs make it moist enough, and ketchup should be put on top - that's how they do it in Ohio!). I found this recipe to be too sweet and taste like pure BBQ sauce. Also, the oven timing is way off, needs to be in oven MUCH longer to set - I added about 40 minutes onto the end and it still didn't end up setting until it was refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeezlouise2012
Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
2 hours later and it still has not set up!!!! I have made many recipes off this site, this is the first failure. I even used less sauce and cooked it on 350 for the first 45 min.. What i tasted was great, to bad its not edible. I'll try again in the future but I might precook the morning star crumbles and bell pepper to remove some of the moisture first and cook it at higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Parmesan IS NOT vegetarian. Not because of dairy but because of enzymes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was tasty except it calls for too much BBQ sauce. I will probably half the BBQ topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
just as good as left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
If I didn't know it was veggie I would have thought it was meatloaf. I wouldn't say its the best meatloaf I have ever had as far as meat meatloaf bust since its veggie I must say its awesome! I used half bbq and half ketchup, put most inside but saved some and baked it on top.. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Excellent alternative to the traditional favorite. I took the advice of some of the other members and used half ketchup hald bbq sauce to cut down on the tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I thought this recipe was a great substitute to the meatloaf of my childhood. However, the thyme and basil gave it a "twang" that gave a weird after taste. I think the next time I will make it without those two spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AYENDA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KrisiLW
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is a favorite in our house and has been served many times. Even my meat eating husband requests it! The only thing I do differently is to only use barbeque sauce for the mixture. I use ketchup for the top instead. It's just too much barbeque for our tastes otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Delicious! I had never eaten any kind of meatloaf before but my meat-eating fiance loves it. I tried this and we both truly enjoyed it!!! I added a little ketchup to the bbq sauce, and some cooked rice to make it a little lighter-and I used crumbled boca patties. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinaLin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States