Vegetarian Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This wasn't bad, but it was very mushy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I suggest not using any barbecue sauce. Made this for dinner and everyone loved it...non-vegetarians, vegetarians,even the kids! But we all agree it would have been terrible with barbecue sauce...especially a whole bottle! My changes: no barbecue sauce, used 2 eggs instead of 1, used Italian breadcrumbs and skipped the spices (since the breadcrumbs had spice). Family can't wait for me to make this again! We topped it with ketchup in the last 10 min of baking. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I also used ketchup instead of bbq sauce. It didnt set all the way but the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was delicious! It didn't turn out as a firm loaf; it was more like a casserole but I rate it on how it tastes, not how it looks. This is a wonderful vegetarian dish that I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I added one extra egg to see if that would help bind the final loaf, given the reviews. I also turned the heat to 375 and went for a full sixty minutes. Also, I tried to eliminate as much moisture by using paper towels to wick liquid from the vegetables: I used onion, red and green peppers, and a small amount of carrots -- all minced. I also chopped the soy crumbles much smaller. I substituted ketchup and used no bbq sauce at all. Given the higher heat and longer time, the bottom did get a little dark (I used spray oil on the metal pan) -- but my family loved it all! The loaf held together pretty well. Not quite as "tight" as meatloaf but more put-together than several reviewers note. I served it with Cheesy Ranch Potato Bake and broccoli. It's a great recipe - fair amount of work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
i made this for dinner using muffin pan for easy leftover for lunch. This is so good i'm not sure i'm not sure i'll have anything to eat for lunch tomorrow. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nivannah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very tasty and held up well! I'm the only vegetarian in the house so I scaled down the ingredients and made a small one for my dinner. I didn't use the BBQ sauce and I made a sauce for the top made out of brown sugar, ketchup, and mustard. It made a tasty glaze to the delicious meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Eh, this recipe was just alright to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I substituted tomato sauce (see Allrecipe's "Easy Tomato Sauce" recipe) for the barbeque sauce and only used about 6 ounces. I sauteed the onion and green pepper until fully cooked. This made an excellent vegetarian meatloaf. I will definitely make this recipe again with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Perhaps it was just my interp of the recipe, but I would add more bread, less green pepper, and switch out the bbq sauce for catsup next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States