Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
WOW! i made this for my vegetarian girlfriend, and we were both stunned at how amazing this dish was. didn't have the sage or garlic powder, but was still a perfect 10. this meateater is definately coming around to vegetarian cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
used soy sauce instead of the worchestershire sauce, used bread crumbs instead of bread and used egg replacer for the eggs and this was a very very good meatloaf! thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe turned out pretty well. I didn't have the vegetarian worsteshire sauce, so I used soy sauce. I also used egg replacer to make it vegan. I also used ketchup instead of tomato sauce. It tasted pretty good, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was surprised at how great this turned out and how easy it was. Instead of vegetarian ground beef and crumbles, I used what I had on hand -- 2 packages of Morningstar Sausage Crumbles, which has a little bit of spice to it already. I also replaced the bread with Ritz crackers, but otherwise I think I followed the recipe exactly. The vegetables were overdone, even though I added them half way through the cooking time, as other reviewers mentioned (I'll just cook them separately next time), but my fiance loved it, and I don't think I've ever had meatloaf this good, even before I was vegetarian. My fiance and his cousins have asked me to make this for the main course at Thanksgiving dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe was very good. I used four slices of bread (crumbs), soy milk and no eggs and actually forgot to put the onions in...ooops. Everyone seemed to like this recipe but thought the sage was a little strong, so next time I will reduce the amount of sage. Definitely a keeper, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Hands down one of the best meals since becoming a vegetarian (9 months ago). I didn't ad ANY spices (other than salt and pepper) it was STILL wonderful! My kids LOVED IT and even my meat-eating/vegetarian-food-hating husband said it tasted like the real deal! I used a very simple brown sugar and ketchup glaze on top (like I did with 'real' meatloaf) and it was scrumptious. Can't wait to make it again! Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was delicious, and a big hit with my meat eating husband. I also used the ketchup/brown sugar sauce on top and cooked it in a loaf pan without the vegetables. I will definitely make this again. My only complaint is that the loaf was very crumbly -- we had to use a spoon to get it out. Maybe I should add another egg next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
My boyfriend thought he'd gone back to a school cafeteria when he was served the sauteed veg, mashed potatoes with onion gravy and the 'meat' loaf. He doesn't like beef and I don't eat any meat and we both loved this! Our dinner guest who eats meat thought it was real meatloaf, plates were nearly licked clean. I used half Gimme Lean sausage and half beef and a whole bag of Quorn burger crumbles and cooked it in a loaf pan sans vegetables. (froze the two halves of Gimme Lean for the next round) I used 1 1/2 cups Japanese style panko bread crumbs instead of homemade as I'm used to putting crushed crackers in my meatloaf from the old days and the texture was perfect. I only used a couple of ounces garlic and Italian spiced tomato sauce on the top and it was more than enough since it was in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Excellent recipe - best non-meat meatloaf that I've had. Having roasted vegetables alongside makes it just like "Mom used to make".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I'm not a vegetarian, but was looking for a lower calorie and healthier alternative to meatloaf - this was great! I loved the sage, would probably try the sausage style meat substitute next time as someone else suggested. Great meat texture and flavor. This receipe should satisfy anyone who is craving meatloaf - thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States