Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe was great! My vegetarian husband has never had meatloaf, and since it's one of my favorite foods I have been wanting to make him some for years. I finally tried it with this recipe and I am so glad that I did! It is now one of his new favorite foods and it's so good that even I didn't miss the meat at all. It was kind of crumbly, but my regular meatloaf can be like that too sometimes so I'm not too bothered by it. I made some changes based on what I could find in the store and to make it a little closer to my normal recipe. I substituted Sausage flavored Gimmie Lean. I used 1 1/2 cups crushed cheezits crackers instead of bread cubes. I left out the sage and pepper and increased the garlic a little. I used ketchup on the outside instead of tomato sauce, and mixed in a squirt of ketchup into the mix too. I also cooked it without the roasted veggies because I didn't have space in the pan - I served it with mashed potatoes and a salad instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolana111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I tried this as just a meatloaf without adding the vegetables. It was simple to make and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was my first attempt at "fake" meatloaf. When I told my meat-eating boyfriend what I was making for dinner, he was pretty dubious. He said it was very good, even though it didn't quite taste like meat. The next night I found him eating the rest of it straight out of the pan! Great basic recipe to build on. I made some changes to make it more like my mom's meatloaf, and didn't really measure anything. I made it in a loaf pan and skipped the veggies (I made mashed potatoes instead with Yukon Golds - yum!). I omitted the worcestershire sauce and mustard because I didn't have any on hand. I used corn flakes instead of bread cubes and ketchup instead of tomato sauce. I added a lot of ketchup to the mix as well as on top, which I think helped it be very moist inside, if somewhat crumbly. I added maybe half a large onion and several cloves of garlic that I smashed with a knife. Then for herbs I poured on a bunch of Bell's poultry seasoning till I thought it looked good. I followed the recipe on everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eternalsunshine
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
So yummy! If you cant find veggie worschester than you can use steak sauce. I do it all the time. I made a glaze for the top out of ketchup, mustard and brown sugar. I also made mini meatloafs so it would cook faster and get browner all over. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is a must-have recipe if you like meatloaf and have a vegetarian in your household. I added diced green, red, and yellow peppers, chopped mushrooms, minced garlic in place of the garlic powder, 1 cup bread crumbs instead of the cubed bread slices, dashes of thyme and parsley (basil and rosemary good too), and a tablespoon of brown sugar to the tomato sauce topping (ketchup glaze -- 1/2 cup ketchup, 1 tsp mustard, and 1 tbs brown sugar -- is good too). Instead of placing carrots and potatoes around a formed loaf, I just added minced carrot to the mixture, pressed and baked the mixture in a large loaf pan for an hour and 15 minutes, and served it with mashed potatoes. Mmmmm. Moist and meaty. It's a real winner/keeper for both me (a meat eater) and my husband (a vegetarian)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Truly delicious! I skipped the veggies since I had a different side dish planned - but the meatloak is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this for the first time tonight and wow! I'm very pleasantly surprised! I followed the recipe pretty closely, with only a few modifications: My grocery store only had the Sausage Style Gimme Lean, so I used that and cut the sage down to 1/2 tsp. I also added an extra egg just to be sure it held together. I omitted the worchestshire sauce and planned to substitute it with soy sauce, but to my dismay, we were out! It didn't matter...it tasted great without. I also used plain breadcrumbs instead of cubed bread, and I tightly packed and baked this in a greased glass loaf pan for 1 hour. I added a glaze of brown sugar, ketchup and honey mustard 1/2 way through cooking. This received rave reviews from my family! This is definitely a keeper, and I will make it again and again! Thank you! After 20 years as a vegetarian, I've finally found an old favorite comfort food! I think I will attempt to use a variation of this recipe for "meat"balls, and see how it comes out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniChristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My husband is a vegetarian and I usually HATE the soy "burger" recipes and steer clear of them, but this one seemed to be worth a shot. If I hadn't made it, I wouldn't have known it was "meatless." My husband loved it and I really enjoyed it as well. I couldn't find the vegetarian worsteshire sauce, so I found an alternative vegetarian steak marinade which worked well. I also used egg beaters in place of real eggs, whole wheat bread, skim milk, and unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil to make more figure friendly. I wouldn't cook with the vegetables again as they didn't cook well with the loaf. The potatoes needed a little more time to cook and the carrots were completely raw. The "meat"loaf was GREAT though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My family loved this, even my non-vegetarian husband, who is suspicious of these kinds of recipes. I followed the recipe pretty closely first time. Am making it today again and might modify slightly just to experiment. It honestly does taste like "meat" loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly but used the sausage gimme lean. It was just okay. I think it would of been better with a good faux burger crumble and a different topping. With some teaks I am sure it could be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States