Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I've recently delved into the vegetarian world and really wanted to try this. But it came out a little off to me. This was the first time I ever used Soy Meat products, so there was definitely room for mistakes. Please help me out on this one, but my "Meat"loaf came out pretty crumbly. The "meat" wouldn't stay together. On top of that when I threw the potatoes and carrots along with the loaf, the veggies were still hard and uncooked, even after 45 minutes on one side then 45 on the other. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I must have made a mistake somewhere cause everyone else on here absolutely loves it...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FerretWonder

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wow! If I ever am craving that meat texture this would be my go to meatloaf. Very, very good. I added the sauce the others did. It added a nice topping. Plus instead of 2 slices of cubed bread, I added bread crumbs. I added 1/3 c. Next time I will add a little less. Other than that I followed this recipe to the T. Loved it. My son really loved it too. This one is going into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was AWSOME! I added minced mushrooms and used real garlic instead of the powder. For the glaze, I used 1/2 cup of Ketchup, 1 Tablespoon of Honey flavoured BBQ sauce (since I don't have mustard) and 4 teaspoon of Brown sugar. It turned out to be amazing in taste! Also, I only cooked it for 30 minutes TOTAL and that was plenty enough for my oven.. crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. MMMMM can't wait to have some more tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a great tasting recipe which was devoured by everyone, including my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Love this recipe, it was simple to make. I also used a ketchup/mustard/brown sugar glaze. My husband loved it. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I don't cook with meat and have been craving meatloaf for quite awhile so I was pretty excited to try out this recipe. I turned out just okay, but it could be because I made a modification- I substituted bread crumbs for cubed bread. Also, I left out the surrounding carrots and potatoes and just made the meatloaf. If I make it again, I'll use mushroom gravy as an accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by havenleah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carly
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe was a fantastic base that allowed me to put my own spin on it! I borrowed the brown sugar, mustard and ketchup glaze, I also put olive oil on the veggies and used mini red potatos. But I also added fresh basil, garlic and crimini mushrooms. It was very yummy and not too heavy.....I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe was great! My vegetarian husband has never had meatloaf, and since it's one of my favorite foods I have been wanting to make him some for years. I finally tried it with this recipe and I am so glad that I did! It is now one of his new favorite foods and it's so good that even I didn't miss the meat at all. It was kind of crumbly, but my regular meatloaf can be like that too sometimes so I'm not too bothered by it. I made some changes based on what I could find in the store and to make it a little closer to my normal recipe. I substituted Sausage flavored Gimmie Lean. I used 1 1/2 cups crushed cheezits crackers instead of bread cubes. I left out the sage and pepper and increased the garlic a little. I used ketchup on the outside instead of tomato sauce, and mixed in a squirt of ketchup into the mix too. I also cooked it without the roasted veggies because I didn't have space in the pan - I served it with mashed potatoes and a salad instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolana111

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I tried this as just a meatloaf without adding the vegetables. It was simple to make and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was my first attempt at "fake" meatloaf. When I told my meat-eating boyfriend what I was making for dinner, he was pretty dubious. He said it was very good, even though it didn't quite taste like meat. The next night I found him eating the rest of it straight out of the pan! Great basic recipe to build on. I made some changes to make it more like my mom's meatloaf, and didn't really measure anything. I made it in a loaf pan and skipped the veggies (I made mashed potatoes instead with Yukon Golds - yum!). I omitted the worcestershire sauce and mustard because I didn't have any on hand. I used corn flakes instead of bread cubes and ketchup instead of tomato sauce. I added a lot of ketchup to the mix as well as on top, which I think helped it be very moist inside, if somewhat crumbly. I added maybe half a large onion and several cloves of garlic that I smashed with a knife. Then for herbs I poured on a bunch of Bell's poultry seasoning till I thought it looked good. I followed the recipe on everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States