Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
LOVED this! one of my fave meals is my mom's meatloaf so i was looking for something comparable but w/o the meat. never imagined i'd find it. i always check allrecipes 1st & once again, i found a winner here. like everyone else, i did a little customization due to pref or what was/not on hand. i didn't have sage, so skipped it. i will try onion powder next time as someone suggested. i kept pretty much everything else. i did add half a can of Tomato Paste & "squished" some canned ones to thicken things up & add texture. it worked great! next time i'll probably use the whole (little) can of paste. i only used 1 bag of Morning Star soy crumbles and it worked out perfectly - i was afraid it wouldn't have enough "meat" but that wasn't the case at all. next time i will add some Quorn Burger Crumbles though since we love their other products. topped mine w/ ketchup too since that's what i grew up with, but i'll try some of the suggestions here for mixes. This taste just as good as mom's & i'm even reheating for lunch today which i NEVER do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Probably the best vegetarian meatloaf I've tried! I think mixing the Gimme Lean with the veggie crumbles really gives it a great texture. I'm always looking for good ways to substitute meat in my diet and I think if you're a meatloaf lover like myself and looking for a healthy vegetarian option definitely give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I love this meatloaf. I became vegetarian 4 months ago, and it has been a fairly easy transition. However, I used to love meatloaf. However, I did make change the topping from the tomato sauce to 1/2 cup ketchup, 4 tsp brown sugar, and 2 tsp mustard like others suggested. So GOOD! I also made mashed potatoes instead. Such a great recipe. It made my boyfriend very happy. He has a harder time letting go of meat than I have. Try this recipe! I will be surprised if you regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I tried this recipe and it turned out great! However instead of using the spices I tried a packet of meatloaf seasoning...=\ I didnt find veg. worcestershire sauce...or sage..next time I want to try this again with the original seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FetaLenora

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was really good! I used Gimme Lean soysage and a bag of Boca burger crumbles. I used a clove of fresh pressed garlic instead of powdered and used my mother's meatloaf sauce instead of tomato sauce. It's basically ketchup, brown sugar and lemon juice. I also added mushrooms, which I put on top of the loaf before pouring the sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My husband asks me to cook this for dinner again and again. I use Oroweat's Oat-Nut bread, and I substitute rosemary for sage. Also, I toss the potatoes and carrots in some extra rosemary before tossing them in the pan. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So good, it's unreal! Thank YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Loved this!!! It did fall apart, but that could have been my choice of crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is the greatest vegetarian meatloaf recipe ever! I have been looking for a long time for something with the taste and texture of real meatloaf. Usually there is too much breadcrumbs or oatmeal, or the texture just doesn't work. I'm a diabetic vegetarian, so the amount of carbs in a dish is important. I made this last night and it was WONDERFUL. I used ketchup on the top like my mom did and I made it in a 5x9 loaf pan. We served it with mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus. YUMmee! I cannot wait to have a meatloaf sandwich for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I got my carnivore husband to eat a complete veg meal which speaks for itself. I added zucchini, red pepper, grated parm, and tomato paste to the wet mix and a splash of balsamic to the tomato sauce. Also subbed sausage Gimme Lean because that was all that Trader Joes carried, but am happy that I did. Served with a side of marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States