Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good and hearty. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was DElishious! I did have to make a few changes because I didn't have everything on hand. I used 1 pkg. of boca crumble and 4 boca sausage patties, onion powder instead of onions, and did not have any vegetarian worch. sauce. (I'm going to have to track that down because I had no idea it exsisted!) This was a very filling dinner, and the leftovers are even better the next day. I'm going to try it out on some of my meat eatting friends and get their opionion, but in our book it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I've been vegetarian for 16 years so I don't really remember how meatloaf tastes, but this is a great tasting recipe that my husband who just recently became vegetarian said does indeed taste like meatloaf. The only issue is it does fall apart and I'm not sure how to correct that problem. I followed the directions exactly except used the 1/2 c ketchup, 2 tsp mustard and 4tbs brown sugar topping instead of tomato sauce. I found that the extra salt called for in the recipe makes it a bit too salty. Both my kids liked it so it gets 5 stars from me, but I would've given it a 4 for taste and texture. I also used mashed potatoes and steamed carrots to save cooking time so it ended up only needing 30 min. total. Overall, good winter time recipe, very savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have made this multiple times and it has turned out great. I have been able to tweak it for flavor and consistency. I found that the key to getting it to hold together is using one package of the refrigerated crumbles that are kind of sticky (found usually near the produce) and one package of frozen. I prefer to use a pkg of frozen sausage style crumbles along with the "beef," as it gives it more flavor. Dicing the onion up fine helps it soften as it cooks, and a bell pepper is good in there as well. I sub whole wheat bread crumbs and / or whole oats as a binder for the bread slices, and for speed, use organic ketchup for the topping. My boyfriend, a newer vegetarian, said it is better than any "real" meatloaf he has ever had. The roasted vegetables come out great if you drizzle them with a little olive oil and some fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe is great and hearty for the whole family. I make a tasty topping that is to-die-for: equal parts of water, brown sugar and ketchup (as much as you think you would like) pour over the top when baking in a loaf or casserole pan - makes a GREAT glaze! I have to fight the kids to keep them from taking more than what is on the top of their serving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I am a new vegetarian, but got a craving for meatloaf! this was really tasty!! I did a few things differently, such as use like 4-5 cloves of real garlic.. I used one piece of bread and a cup or so of store bread crumbs.. I think next time I will just use the real bread :) I accidentally added the whole package of Gimme Lean beef, so maybe that's why mine was mushy? -probably also the bread crumbs.. I also used the ketchup/mustard/sugar glaze for mine. I also took another reviewers advice and sauteed the onion for a few minutes so they were soft and fragrant! other than that, I followed the recipe- oh! I didn't use the veggies.. just put the loaf in a bread loaf pan and made mashed potatoes!!! I have been a vegetarian for almost a whole month, and I haven't felt this satisfied since I started! it almost tasted and had the texture of meat! so cool!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
LOVED this! one of my fave meals is my mom's meatloaf so i was looking for something comparable but w/o the meat. never imagined i'd find it. i always check allrecipes 1st & once again, i found a winner here. like everyone else, i did a little customization due to pref or what was/not on hand. i didn't have sage, so skipped it. i will try onion powder next time as someone suggested. i kept pretty much everything else. i did add half a can of Tomato Paste & "squished" some canned ones to thicken things up & add texture. it worked great! next time i'll probably use the whole (little) can of paste. i only used 1 bag of Morning Star soy crumbles and it worked out perfectly - i was afraid it wouldn't have enough "meat" but that wasn't the case at all. next time i will add some Quorn Burger Crumbles though since we love their other products. topped mine w/ ketchup too since that's what i grew up with, but i'll try some of the suggestions here for mixes. This taste just as good as mom's & i'm even reheating for lunch today which i NEVER do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Probably the best vegetarian meatloaf I've tried! I think mixing the Gimme Lean with the veggie crumbles really gives it a great texture. I'm always looking for good ways to substitute meat in my diet and I think if you're a meatloaf lover like myself and looking for a healthy vegetarian option definitely give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I love this meatloaf. I became vegetarian 4 months ago, and it has been a fairly easy transition. However, I used to love meatloaf. However, I did make change the topping from the tomato sauce to 1/2 cup ketchup, 4 tsp brown sugar, and 2 tsp mustard like others suggested. So GOOD! I also made mashed potatoes instead. Such a great recipe. It made my boyfriend very happy. He has a harder time letting go of meat than I have. Try this recipe! I will be surprised if you regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I tried this recipe and it turned out great! However instead of using the spices I tried a packet of meatloaf seasoning...=\ I didnt find veg. worcestershire sauce...or sage..next time I want to try this again with the original seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FetaLenora

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States