Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My family loved this, even my non-vegetarian husband, who is suspicious of these kinds of recipes. I followed the recipe pretty closely first time. Am making it today again and might modify slightly just to experiment. It honestly does taste like "meat" loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly but used the sausage gimme lean. It was just okay. I think it would of been better with a good faux burger crumble and a different topping. With some teaks I am sure it could be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was superb! I cut it half, except for eggs, garlic power and bread cubs. Added some fresh cilantro. My very picky grandson loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This meatloaf came out very good and my meat-eater fiance told me that it was just as good as, and tasted very close to, "traditional" meatloaf. I did make a few minor tweaks to the recipe, but mostly just based on personal preference. First, I couldn't find the fake ground beef at the store so I used the fake ground sausage instead, which added a nice flavor but made the loaf just a tiny bit too salty for my taste. (So, if I use the sausage again, I will definitely cut down on the salt in the recipe.) I also sauteed the onions before adding (to cut down on the crunchiness) and substituted ketchup for the tomato sauce. (The ketchup contrasted nicely with the savory flavor of the meatloaf.) Those were the only minor changes made, though, and I feel that this is a great recipe for anyone craving the taste of a traditional meatloaf. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I've been making this from this recipe for a long time, it is a staple for holidays. My meat-eating inlaws devour this! A few adjustments to make it vegan: I use NRG egg replacer instead of eggs, drop the worchestershire sauce, and use soy or almond milk. It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was delicious! I'm only giving it 4 stars and not 5 because I made a few changes- I used the tangy sauce on top, as other reviewers suggested, Ritz crackers instead of bread, and increased the amount and variety of spices- I included summer savory, a bit of cumin, a bit of cayenne, as well as smoked paprika and fresh garlic. The texture is just right, and I think it will make a great sandwich tomorrow! I will be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe. I'm always searching for good vegetarian recipes that would satisfy my taste as well as my husband's who is not a vegetarian. We both love this recipe! No changes needed, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Love the flavor of this "meatloaf". I choose to use a hearty grainy bread for the cubed bread in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Everyone loved this dish. Meat eaters said it was the best meatloaf they'd had and asked for the recipe. Slight changes taken from other reviewers: - 1 tbsp. Worcesteshire rather than 2 tbsp. 1 1/2 C. Whole wheat breadcrumbs rather than making own with bread. 2 cloves fresh garlic rather than garlic salt. Used tangy sauce topping - Ketchup, mustard, brown sugar. Rather than tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My sister made this and shared with me. I loved it. My husband is not vegetarian and said he would gladly eat this if I wanted to make it for dinner sometime. I sure will! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonShoes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States