Vegetarian Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Love! been making this for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe and even my meat-eatting boyfriend said it was just like the real thing. My only thing was it felt to heavy for me. Overall a great recipe. I will probably and in some more veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was AMAZING! Never made veg meatloaf and it was killer. I about halved the recipe and used only one package of Smart Ground, added extra onions, subbed the worcestershire for my fave teriyaki marinade and doubled the amount of that, and used a cup or so of bread crumbs instead of cubes. I put marinara with a dash of teriyaki on top, put fingerlings and onions around it in the pan, and baked it for an hour and 15 minutes. With a little ketchup it had my perfect amount of sweetness with an incredible meaty taste and moist, yet formed consistency! Can't wait to make sandwiches out of the leftovers tomorrow. Will make this for my next potluck, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seward, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I've made this over and over for my vegetarian husband. It's so yummy. He always requests it. You won't miss the meat at all. I don't use tomato sauce. Instead I use a glaze of 1/2 cup ketchup, 4 tsp brown sugar, 2 tsp mustard. I think this really makes a difference and gives it that sweetness and tang you get from meat meatloaf. It's really the best veg meatloaf I've tried or made. We are only 2 people and this recipe is enough to have all week long. It's so good as leftovers, although it can get a little dry (probably why the recipe says to use tomato sauce). Tip, if you are using frozen crumbles, let them warm up a bit. I'm always in pain mixing this w/ my hands 'cuz it's so cold. Lol. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I've never written a review on here before but I just had to for this. My sister, mom and I are all vegetarian. I decided to try this recipe yesterday and it is FANTASTIC. I followed it exactly except for the glaze which I used around 1/2 cup ketchup, a squirt of mustard, and a little brown sugar as other users suggested. I also used 3 teaspoons fresh minced sage instead of dry ground. It turned out moist and stayed together perfectly. I baked it for an hour and 20 minutes and it turned out perfectly golden brown. I think those who are having problems with it being too crumbly should use the cubed bread instead of bread crumbs. It tasted even better than real meatloaf! We were amazed! Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
A1 is a great alternative to veggie Worcestershire sauce and easier to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious "fake meat" type meatloaf. I cooked the carrots and potatoes separately. My only changes (due to what I had at home) were: Increased mustard to 2 Tbs, omitted Worcestershire sauce and used 2 tsp Sriracha sauce instead. This added a nice mild to medium spice level. And, I used catsup instead of tomato sauce on top. Delicious - would love to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I printed this recipe in 2004 and I have been making it ever since! Vegetarian and non-vegetarian alike enjoy this. I use the Gimme Lean Sausage style "meat", but otherwise, prepare it as the recipe states. Thanks Renee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Used gimme lean sausage and 1pkg yves no gmo meatless ground. Did soy sauce instead of worcestershire. Used a cup crushed oyster crackers instead of bread. Used variation of tangy glaze with more sugar. Didn’t beat eggs. Put in casserole dish and did not make veggies. Cooked with potatoes au gratin for 1:10. Wow, really good. A tiny bit dry (forgot the milk) and could have been greasier imo. The sauce was still saucy/gooey on top not crispy. The crackers were dry not mushy. Good flavor. We all had seconds. I had more for lunch the next day-still good. Did not have a tendency to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very good. My wife gave it a 10. Had the Gimme Lean Sausage type instead of Beef type, so I left out the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toddstanfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States