Vegetarian Link Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
A tasty gravy, definitely one I will make again. The only negatives were that it uses up a whole package of fake sausage (that stuff's expensive!) and that I did the thing with the cornstarch and it turned out too thick to pour. Next time, I will leave the cornstarch in the pantry. :&)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
The base recipe is very good. However, with a few adjustments I think it's great. First, reduce the olive oil to 2 Tbsp instead of 3 (you don't need so much oil in such a small serving). Thought it was much too thick so added more like 1.5 cups of broth. For most flavorful gravy, use an "unchicken" broth instead of plain vegetable broth. I think Westbrae "California UnChicken Broth" has the best flavor. Finally, suggest using meatless sausage patties instead of links -- I think the Morningstar brand is the most tasty. Defrost two patties, finely chop, and add to gravy right before serving. I whipped up a batch of gravy and served it for breakfast over biscuits. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This is the second time I have made this recipe and it is fantastic! I used a portion of Gimmie Lean and my husband said it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Delicious vegetarian gravy. I used Gimme lean sausage and it turned out great for vegetarian biscuits and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I was so excited to find this recipe! I've been looking forever for a vegitarian gravy that actually resembles gravy and tastes good, too! My husband loves this with biscuts for breakfast so much, I always have to make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This recipe was sooooo yummy and EASY! I used the Morningstar farms breakfast patties instead of the links. I also used Italian (garlic herb) Mrs Dash in place of the pepper and sage. I poured the gravy over reduced fat Grands buttermilk biscuits. A very veggie treat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
really good, its really easy to make, i added a little more flour than is suggested. you'll see when you try it. really great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This is a great alternative to the traditional sausage gravy I have always eaten. I took the advice of another person who rated the recipe and used non-chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. My boyfriend has never eaten meat and both he and I loved this vegetarian friendly breakfast treat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I made this gravy for my boyfriend that LOVES biscuits and gravy. He's not a vegetarian so he was wary about it. But one bite changed his mind. Now he wants it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love it! I added no-chicken broth instead and a full teaspoon of sage and it added a little more flavor. Also, combination veggie links and patties added more variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States