Vegetarian Link Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
The base recipe is very good. However, with a few adjustments I think it's great. First, reduce the olive oil to 2 Tbsp instead of 3 (you don't need so much oil in such a small serving). Thought it was much too thick so added more like 1.5 cups of broth. For most flavorful gravy, use an "unchicken" broth instead of plain vegetable broth. I think Westbrae "California UnChicken Broth" has the best flavor. Finally, suggest using meatless sausage patties instead of links -- I think the Morningstar brand is the most tasty. Defrost two patties, finely chop, and add to gravy right before serving. I whipped up a batch of gravy and served it for breakfast over biscuits. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
A tasty gravy, definitely one I will make again. The only negatives were that it uses up a whole package of fake sausage (that stuff's expensive!) and that I did the thing with the cornstarch and it turned out too thick to pour. Next time, I will leave the cornstarch in the pantry. :&)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I used two patty style vegetarian sausage in place of the links and sauteed them without olive oil. Be sure to cook the roux until it is golden and fragrant. That prevents a 'raw flour' taste. I served this gravy over Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe far surpassed my expectations. I expected it to have the consistency of meat-based gravy, but to lack something in the flavor department. However, that is completely NOT the case. The only variation to the recipe I have made is using the vegetarian patties from Morningstar instead of the links. Once broken up and added to the gravy, you really would be surprised if you could find someone who could taste the difference between this and a meat-based sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thejill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love it! I added no-chicken broth instead and a full teaspoon of sage and it added a little more flavor. Also, combination veggie links and patties added more variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This is a great alternative to the traditional sausage gravy I have always eaten. I took the advice of another person who rated the recipe and used non-chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. My boyfriend has never eaten meat and both he and I loved this vegetarian friendly breakfast treat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Amazing- tastes like the real thing! I used ground veggie sausage instead of links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was good and very simple. I made this without the biscuits once with eggs and toast and another time as a gravy with mashed potatoes. My non veg friends didn't even complain!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is very tasty; I had been looking for a good veg gravy. I like to cook up some biscuits with it and top them with soy sausages and this gravy. It's a top comfort food in our house. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This recipe was sooooo yummy and EASY! I used the Morningstar farms breakfast patties instead of the links. I also used Italian (garlic herb) Mrs Dash in place of the pepper and sage. I poured the gravy over reduced fat Grands buttermilk biscuits. A very veggie treat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States