Vegetarian Link Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I used two patty style vegetarian sausage in place of the links and sauteed them without olive oil. Be sure to cook the roux until it is golden and fragrant. That prevents a 'raw flour' taste. I served this gravy over Fluffy Whole Wheat Biscuits. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Thank you! Now I finally know how to make delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow, this gravy is phenominal. I reallly don't eat meat so I have never attempted to make any sort of gravy. I haven't had biscuits and gravy since I was a little kid and obviously I have been mmissing out. I agree though that the olive oil called for is excessive, I actually I have made this twice first cutting the oil to two tbsp then I cut it out all together and intead just mixed the flour and the broth together. I also added an entire 14oz can of broth to make it more pourable. Be sure to taste as you salt as to not over salt like I did. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Absolutely delish! I used 6 mornning star farm patties instead of links and it turned out great! I also used grands biscuits to serve the gravy with and topped with chopped parsley. I did add a little more flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Too funny that people would think this would be better with meat, it is a vegetarian gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was a great vegetarian gravy! I served it over "J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits" for my husband for our anniversary breakfast. He loved it!!! He kept talking about it for hours afterwards!! The only change I made was to use Morningstar crumbles instead of sausage because I don't like the veggie sausage and used fresh sage leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Wowie! What a find! DOUBLE the recipe if you have a family of 4 or more 'cause you'll need it. Not just for breakfast either! I put it on mashed potatoes and my daughter donned her lentil/rice loaf slices with it! Word of warning, do not use any salt until the end. The veggie links have a lot of saltiness to them already. At the point of adding the cooked sausages I put everything in the food processor and blended until smooth (or a lot less chunky) and it was perfectly thick and yummy. This will please even meat eaters! (I used 2-3 Morning Star Sausage Patties).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very good! I had never tried a vegetarian gravy before and this was really tasty on biscuits. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Really, really good recipe! You could almost eat this gravy by itself. Great on rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
INCREDIBLE!!!! My 10 year old daughter and I love this gravy.....I made this morning and we can't stop tasting it!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States