Vegetarian Lime Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
A little tangy, but otherwise not so bad! Left out the canned tomatoes as I reckoned they may go soggy in with the pasta. However, even the non-vegetarians enjoyed it. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is a very unique and different recipe, loaded with lots of color and flavors! As written I thought it was too "limey," so I cut the lime juice and zest in half, and it was perfect, to me. I also substituted fresh basil for the parsley, but other than that I followed the recipe as written. This has become one of my favorite side dishes. A 5 star recipe that is highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I made this recipe but instead of using orzo as the pasta I left that out and served the sauce over angel hair pasta. It was delish!! I also like a little more kick so instead of stewed tomatoes I used tomatoes and chilis in a can. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
amazing recipe! i don't normally follow measurements but i was close enough. i added a yellow bell pepper i had lying around when i added the carrots and zucchini. I also added more garlic. I didn't have itlian seasoning but i had this roasted garlic & pepper seasoning that I used a dash of. It tastes great without the parmesan. It also looks nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This recipe was awsome!!!! I was searhing for a dish to make with zuccini from our garden. I added a few red pepper flakes also while simmering and serve it over angel hair noodles with a grilled chicken breast....will definately make again. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I really likes this- very diffrent than what I usually make. It has a light "limey" taste and even my 3 toddlers ate it! I peeled thin strips of a zuccini and squash (I hide them!) and used a tomatoe broth as I did not have veggie. I loved the light flavors and will make again! God Bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I LITERALLY just finished making this for my husband and I and it is fabulous! no complaints at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brande Mae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This turned out great. I was a little leary because of the texture, but once in my mouth it was wonderful. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made a mistake. Thinking I had Orzo, I got everything together and started cooking. When it was time to add the Orzo, it was then that I noticed I had Risotto(Italian rice) and not Orzo. I decided to continue with Risotto and added about 1 1/2 more water and increased the cooking time. I added red pepper flakes and omitted the parsley and cheese for personal taste. My family loved it, including my 2 yr old! I think the flavors were perfect and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
We love it and we love it with LOTS of lime. We usually squeeze more lime juice over it when served. We find that the lime needs to be "refreshed" if it has been refrigerated - it seems to lose its zip quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States