Vegetarian Lime Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe was o.k. It was kinda bland. I followed recipe to the T. However, I may try this again..But, my way. Its a good concept. So, I am rating the recipe as is. To stomp out the confusion..you are to use UNCOOKED Orzo in the first step. You are "toasting" the Orzo. So, make sure your heat isnt on High and your watching it. Because, you dont want it to get too browned or burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I made this recipe but instead of using orzo as the pasta I left that out and served the sauce over angel hair pasta. It was delish!! I also like a little more kick so instead of stewed tomatoes I used tomatoes and chilis in a can. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This recipe was really yummy and we had fun making it. Some things we did differently were add shrimp and use chicken broth instead of veggie broth just because thats all we had on hand. The step about the orzo confused me, I take instructions very literally, did it mean cooked orzo? At any rate, we continued the recipe as instructed minus the orzo step and added the cooked orzo and shrimp at the end and stirred it up into one yummy "stew". ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Wow! This was GREAT! My kids LOVED it! I might have used a bit more than 2 T olive oil, but the browning of the orzo really made it taste really nutty. I think the next time I will use diced tomatoes instead of the whole stewed ones and see if that makes a difference in the texture. The parmesan gave it an Italian flavor that I loved. Romano cheese would also work. I just can't get past browning that orzo. That makes it soooo perfect! Shredding the veggies is a must, since it is in keeping with the texture you start with the orzo. EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did try this recipe basically because I had orzo pasta. I made several modifications with this recipe, it did turn out pretty decent (hence the three stars). To begin with saute orzo with garlic and onions and then add all kinds of vegetables - I added zucchini, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, and asparagus. Followed the steps after that, however the vegetable broth to pasta ratio is really off. I added another 14 ounce can of vegetable broth the pasta. I added crushed red pepper flakes on the top (extra kick) and extra Parmesan cheese for the kids. Overall a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
A little tangy, but otherwise not so bad! Left out the canned tomatoes as I reckoned they may go soggy in with the pasta. However, even the non-vegetarians enjoyed it. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This recipe was easy to make and pretty tasty. I think it needed more kick so next time I make it I'll probably add some crushed red peppers and maybe another clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEME
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and it was yummy. The orzo stuck to the pan while it was browning and when it was simmering, so I'd either use a non-stick pan or stir constantly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
amazing recipe! i don't normally follow measurements but i was close enough. i added a yellow bell pepper i had lying around when i added the carrots and zucchini. I also added more garlic. I didn't have itlian seasoning but i had this roasted garlic & pepper seasoning that I used a dash of. It tastes great without the parmesan. It also looks nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I did change my version a bit...but it was a HUGE hit at my house...I used all the same ingredients only used italian seasoned stewed tomatoes instead of plain and the seasonings, and instead of shredding the veggies I made them more chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States