Vegetarian Lime Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was ok. I thought the flavors blended well together, although I'm not personally a fan of lime or parsley much. I made it mostly because my husband loves both of those. I followed the recipe for the most part. All I did different was adding Rotel instead of regular tomatoes (by mistake, but I think I liked it that way) and using more water. One can just didn't seem like enough. I started with 2 cups and added about 1/2-1 cup more. One reviewer asked whether you are meant to start with raw or cooked orzo. You are definitely meant to start with raw, but like I said, you will probably need more water to cook it. Anyway, it was something different that got rid of the lime and parsley I had on hand already, so that was nice. We ate it as a main dish because my husband is a vegetarian, but it would probably make a good side dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Used chicken broth instead of veggie and increased the spices a bit. Topped with grated old cheddar and loved it! It's a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was truly delicious. It travel well with no reheating necessary. I used it as my lunch throughout a week. Everyday I did something a little different to jazz it up. One day I used parmesan to add flavor, another I used feta, another I used kalamata olives, and another I used chopped up roast chicken. Every way I tried it was delicious. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Really good. I added 4 roma tomatoes (peeled) instead of the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good, but could use a little more flavor. Also, learn from my mistake and be careful not to overcook the veggies. I'd suggest cooking the orzo in the broth with tomatoes for a while *before* adding the carrots and zucchini. They're shredded, so they'll cook in minutes, anyway. The last few ingredients (onions, parsley, etc.) should be added just before serving. Overall, my dish was a little mushy so none of the vegetable flavors or textures came out. Still enjoyed it, and adding some crushed red pepper helped balance the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
One of my every two-month staples. No complaints from my kids. Flavorful, but not spicy. Just the way they like it. We really enjoy it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
First time I ever made orzo. My husband n I really enjoyed it. I used beef broth instead of water. I didn't have green onions but still came out really good. I used dried basil, parsley n more Italian seasoning. I used lemon juice instead of lime. Yummy n healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Delicious fresh. Not too bad next day. Feels like it's missing something. I used it fish tacos as salsa replacement. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have this on the stove right now and I can already tell that it is going to need a lot of work. Followed the directions exactly. Early on the orzo started to burn (the heat was on low). Then, as the cooking progressed, I had to a lot to get any flavor out of it at all. Its a good base, but, by following through to the end product, this would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was really good. I used couscous instead of orzo and I added cooked shrimp at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States