Vegetarian Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
We love Indian food and while I am not a novice cook, I wanted something fairly quick and easy but healthy too. Like others, I used coconut milk vs. cream. Also added garam masala and turmeric and threw in some cayenne because we like it spicy. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
GREAT recipe!!! Even my picky son loved it. The coconut milk idea was a winner, also. This is now a staple recipe for my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
an easy, delicious dish that hits the spot for Indian flavors. you can mix and match veggies (I like cauliflower, potatoes, carrots, peas, peppers and chick pea, but you could use any combination) and if you chop everything the night before you can make it for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Cooked this exactly as written except cooked the potato and carrot first, so they would get done as some folks complained about this. It was really an amazing dish. The prep time for this recipe is way off though. This recipe took me quite a bit longer than it says to chop all the vegetable, but was certainly worth the effort in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Well I'm brown so my expectations may not have been realistic for this recipe. I made it as originally written with some spice modifications the first time and the favors were pretty bland for what I'd expect from a korma. Still the base recipe is a GREAT starting point if one adds liquid with the starch so the potatoes cook properly. The second time I more than doubled the spices (cumin, garam masala, turmeric powders), bay leaf, small cinnamon sticks, garlic, ginger and sautéed all to release flavor as first step even before the onions - I remember my grandma cooking this way. Skipped dairy and used tomatoes to create the curry - I guess this is North Indian flavoring. I referenced the chicken korma recipes for inspiration too. And then at the end I heated the cardamom pods in a dry sauce pan to release the flavor and added five or six pods to the korma. Next time ill try with fish when I having an "animal protein day", which I do once a week. Pretty much any hearty veggie can be added to this recipe for a yummy dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It's a good base but needs way more seasoning. I ended up tripling the curry powder, using coconut milk instead of cream and tomato sauce and used only 2 tablespoons of cream to help thicken the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I did like this, but like everyone else said, don't use cream, use coconut milk. Also, up the spices. Next time I will probably even add more coconut milk so that there a good amount of sauce to soak into the rice. I was in a hurry, so I did precook the potatoes in the microwave a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Made this for my family My husband and I gave five stars the kids at four. They are 9 and 7 and the dish is a little spicy. Easily fixed by leaving out the jalapeño or adding some plain yogurt for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I substituted hot sauce for the habenero and used half and half. Delicious. Although the potato seemed a bit undercooked....might have been the cooks fault though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Delish! Used Coriander Cumin and Pav Bhaji Masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Broz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States