Vegetarian Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Three stars as I consider this recipe a good starting point but much too blah. I made the recipe as specified but used coconut milk in place of cream. It was bland so I added 2 T plain greek yogurt for some tang, 1 Tbsp coriander powder, 1 Tbsp cumin powder, 1 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp garam masala, 1/4 tsp cayenne, & a couple of pinches of dried fenugreek leaves. I will make this modified version again and again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I omitted the tomato sauce and the heavy cream and substituted a can of coconut milk instead. I also doubled the seasoning. I cooked the diced potatoes almost completely before adding them, and added half a head of cauliflower as well. Really good and made for a nice change of pace for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
i always double the recipe (i tend to share w/ coworkers & we love left overs). i use 1/2 coconut milk 1/2 heavy cream. i don't put as much salt and i don't use the jalapeno. instead of peppers i use cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian Littles Ortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
My husband and I really enjoyed the recipe. I had problems getting the potatoes to cook so next time I would either cut them smaller or pre cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was my first shot at Indian Food, and WOW! I'm hooked. This is definitely a staple at my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Really good! I followed other reviewers suggestions regarding using coconut milk instead of cream and doubling the amount of curry. I also added turmeric and garam masala to taste to add a more authentic flavor. I also used potatoes + a bag of already cut frozen veggies (carrots, cauliflower and brocoli) and skipped the peas (I used what I had on hand). Also, didn't add the jalapeno because I wanted my daughter to be able to eat it. My husband couldn't belive I did this myself and did not buy it at our favorite restaurant! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
In addition to curry powder, I used turmeric, cumin, coriander, and cayenne pepper. I didn't have garam masala on hand, but I would have used that as well. I added some cilantro with the veggies. Instead of adding the spices later, I sautéed them with the onions, and then added more to taste after I added the cream. For the veggies, I used zucchini, snow peas, ½ a tomato, carrots, and canned potato. Like other reviewers, I definitely recommend using canned potato if you don't want to wait around for regular potatoes to cook. If you like paneer in your korma like I do, you can cheat and add cubes of queso blanco in the last 5 minutes of cooking, it kicks the dish up a notch! The only other thing I was missing in this dish was a more cashew-y flavor to the sauce. Instead of grinding the cashews, next time I would make them into a paste (maybe with ginger and a little bit of oil) so the nutty flavor is infused in the curry. The little bits of cashew in the sauce just didn't work for me. But this is just an idea, I haven't tried it yet. Overall expect to experiment quite a bit with this recipe, but it's good to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This recipe was ok. I used coconut milk instead of cream - it may be better with cream. Not out-of-this-world great. Next time I think I'll sub in cauliflower for the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
My family loved it, I mean they were asking me to pack it in their lunch for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very good, my husband said "it's like a vegetarian butter chicken dish". I used some coconut milk, cardamom and cumin as others recommended and served over basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States