Vegetarian Kofta Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These were really good. Remind me of a black bean burger mix. I think these would make great patties, I shaped them into dumplings as they wouldn't stay on a skewer, and I added seasoned bread crumbs and milk separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Good one !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I would compare this to a falafal. As suggested in the recipe introduction, I tried this with chick peas instead of adzuki beans. At the mashing stage, I used a hand blender to get it somewhat smooth. I left out the egg, and cilantro (personal preference). I used a bit of french bread that was fresh so I left out the milk. Then I pan fried them in a small amount of oil and my method wasn't perfect because they did break apart a bit. We served them with Naan and garlic yogurt sauce (like tadziki). I'd never made anything with bulgur wheat so thank you for introducing me to a new ingredient. My daughter LOVED this dish, that is the seal of approval from our house. Wonderful recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very good. I couldn't find adzuki beans which didn't really surprise me but I found online that red kidneys are an acceptable substitute. They were pretty hard to crush though. Next time I may put them in the food processor before adding them in with the other ingredients. I think my kofta balls would have stayed together better if I'd gotten the beans mashed better. I served this with a quick yogurt sauce that I just made up as I went (yogurt, cumin, cayene, and salt). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I really liked this! I soaked/cooked my adzukis - they take less time than other beans. I used extra garlic and hot sauce and they came out perfect. I squashed mine like small cookies - no skewers, and froze the leftovers. (I tried a few as larger patties and they didn't survive the flipping.) A yogurt dip is essential. This made for a very inexpensive and yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Made them into small balls and after flipping I squished them down a bit. I also used a food processor to mix it all together. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I substituted the bulgur for quinoa, and I'm not sure if it was the best idea. The flavour of these patties was outstanding, but they didn't firm up very well. You definitely need a good food processor to thoroughly mix and blend the ingredients. I didn't soak the bread in milk, because the bean mixture was super runny. Even after refrigerating the patties, they were sticky, and definitely couldn't be shaped on the sticks. They were absolutely delicious though, and I topped them with some yogurt and tahini. I'll definitely be making them again and I'll update this once I've tried it with bulgur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought these were very flavorful and very versitile. I ate them as the main course with other sides to accompany them, I ate them in sandwiches, in salads, ect.... I decided not to put them on kabobs. I baked them in the oven. A bit fragile, but tasty. I froze what I couldn't use right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madbaker1
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I didn't want to soak my adzuki beans so I use knidneys that I had, I still found it quite tastey and would reccommend it. I had a hard time with the skewers so I think next time I will just make them small patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a great vegetarian option, but it needs some more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Mom's Beef Shish Kabobs

Marinated and grilled beef and vegetable skewers, just like mom's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States