Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This has a good taste. I did feel there needed to be more than just Italian seasoning in it so I experimented with both garlic and onion powder. BUT there is way too much food in this recipe! I cut potatoes down to two large ones and kept skin on. I added only one can beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Scullark
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I used organic vege broth instead of bouillon cubes. It came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This soup was very good. However, I did add extra garlic and my own blend of Italian seasoning. Delicious in bread bowls from Panera Bread Co. Call ahead and they will have them ready for you--already cut! My only complaint about this soup is that the kale was still a bit tough after cooking. Maybe the kale I bought was a little overgrown, rather than young and tender... Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Yum! I was a bit concerned about the ingredients pairing together well, but I really enjoyed this soup! It's really easy to make and very filling. I did make a few modifications based on preference and ingredient availability: I used 2 large potatoes and that was more than enough for me (the soup was packed with potatoes) and I used 8 c veggie broth instead of water and veggie bouillon. I think I'll also add another can of beans next time. I also wish the amount of kale required would have been more specific. My grocery store only had the bagged kale so I had to guess on the amount. I ended up using probably 5-6 cups of kale and I'll likely add more next time. Anyways, great recipe that I will make again and even my meat-loving, soup-hating husband seemed to enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I love this soup! It is easy and very tasty. I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was easy and excellent. I didn't have potatoes, so I added extra beans (rinsed) and tomatoes. Feel free to use vegetable stock if you don't have bullion cubes. I simmered for an hour. Keeps very well in the fridge; can't wait to share with friends and bring to work potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
loooooove this recipe. a great vegan stew, and a simply delicious way to utilize kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is my go-to veggie soup in fall and winter. I usually tweak it a bit by adding more or less of what I like. I tend to use chicken stock for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InfiniteChaos42
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made it, but I modified it a little bit. I added celery and carrots to the mix to add a little more color, and I used some cumin and oregano to bring out the flavor a little more. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I really liked this dish! I substituted turnips for the potatoes to cut out some carbs, and it was delicious! If you use the big purple turnips make sure you peel then first because the skins can be bitter. That was the only change I made. Great soup. Use a really big pot! I think ham or bacon/pancetta would be a great addition to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Agualo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States