Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Easy, cheap and massive! I made this last night and had to transfer from a large pot to my largest soup pot, by the time I added the cannelini beans. Lesson 1, use a huge pot! My husband is NOT a kale fan, but he loved this and even packed a large bowl for his lunch today. Changes I made: 1. I don't use MSG, so instead of Knorr bouillon + water, I used 8 c. of veggie broth (can use homemade or a good, cheap version like Trader Joe's). I generously added Trocomare (organic leek/celery) salt as well as sea salt to help with flavor. 2. I didn't peel the potatoes before cubing and they were delicious. Changes I'll make next time: 1. Add a bay leaf; 2. Half the dried parsley from 2 Tbsp down to 1 Tbsp. A wonderful soup recipe and an easy way to eat the superfood kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Since I had a bag of fresh kale on hand, I came to All Recipes looking for a recipe I use it in. I chose this recipe because of the reviews and because I had the ingredients on hand. I was not disappointed. This was a very tasty soup. I reduced the oil by half, and only used one large potato. That was plenty of potato for my tastes. Everything else I kept exactly as written and it was a very hearty soup. My one suggestion would be to cook it longer. Next time I will leave out the potatoes and beans for about 45 minutes. Then I will add them and cook for another 45 minutes. I just found my kale to be too tough after about 45 minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
this soup was amazing!!! five stars definately. the only thing i did differently was not use the boullion cubes, i couldnt find them so i just used a thick base. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Holy moly. I was looking for a recipe to use up some kale I had and am so glad I chose this one! It was even better the second day. I didn't have regular diced tomatoes and used fire-roasted diced instead, and the heat was nice. Also didn't have cannellinis and substituted black-eyed peas. I'm making it again tonight, this time with a nice fresh tomato and pink beans. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This soup is so delicious. I made this recipe for my son's preschool class and most of the kids wanted seconds and some wanted thirds. It was such a big hit that around 5 or 6 moms called me to tell me that their child came home talking about the soup and so they wanted the recipe. The moms could not believe how much their kids loved such a healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was the best soup!!!! Five stars without a doubt! i don't like italian seasoning, so I didn't add it I love kale so i added more than the recipe requires. Everything else was pretty amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savvyj
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I've made this soup multiple times now. It's come out great every time. The recipe is very forgiving, allowing for imprecise measurements. I like trying different colors of kale and potatoes to really get a rainbow soup - purple potatoes or purple kale for example. I have been adding tofu, which is another nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this soup for a quick dinner tonight served with buttermilk biscuits. It was really delicious! I didn't have any potatoes so I substituted pre chopped butternut squash from the supermarket. I diced the squash into small bite size cubes for quick cooking and it was delicious. I also served some homemade hot sauce on the side (I like it spicy but my BF does not). Great easy & healthy soup on a chilly autumn night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good as is; fantastic with 1 1/2 t chili powder blend from Spice Hunters (a mix of chili powder, onion powder, garlic, cocoa, oregano, red pepper, cumin, cinnamon, and cloves). I made this with chicken broth instead of vegetable buillion and yukon golds instead of white potatoes (skin left on) because that's what I had on hand. Cooked up in about 15-20 mins. I never thought I liked kale until I tried this soup. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was a really wonderful, easy recipe. I did not have dried Italian seasoning or parsley on hand so I substituted Herbs de Provence (which is mostly a lot of thyme). It was an interesting flavor, but I think I'll just add dried basil and oregano next time. My boyfriend who is a big meat eater LOVED this soup and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States