Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
this soup was amazing!!! five stars definately. the only thing i did differently was not use the boullion cubes, i couldnt find them so i just used a thick base. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was the best soup!!!! Five stars without a doubt! i don't like italian seasoning, so I didn't add it I love kale so i added more than the recipe requires. Everything else was pretty amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Easy, cheap and massive! I made this last night and had to transfer from a large pot to my largest soup pot, by the time I added the cannelini beans. Lesson 1, use a huge pot! My husband is NOT a kale fan, but he loved this and even packed a large bowl for his lunch today. Changes I made: 1. I don't use MSG, so instead of Knorr bouillon + water, I used 8 c. of veggie broth (can use homemade or a good, cheap version like Trader Joe's). I generously added Trocomare (organic leek/celery) salt as well as sea salt to help with flavor. 2. I didn't peel the potatoes before cubing and they were delicious. Changes I'll make next time: 1. Add a bay leaf; 2. Half the dried parsley from 2 Tbsp down to 1 Tbsp. A wonderful soup recipe and an easy way to eat the superfood kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good as is; fantastic with 1 1/2 t chili powder blend from Spice Hunters (a mix of chili powder, onion powder, garlic, cocoa, oregano, red pepper, cumin, cinnamon, and cloves). I made this with chicken broth instead of vegetable buillion and yukon golds instead of white potatoes (skin left on) because that's what I had on hand. Cooked up in about 15-20 mins. I never thought I liked kale until I tried this soup. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I made it with kidney beans because those were the only ones I had on hand, and I think the substitution worked well. So good I ate the huge pot of soup by myself in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Um, yum! This soups an amazingly rich flavor! I *forgot* to add the beans (lol), but it still tasted great. I was scared by the amount of kale (a lot) and water (just enough for cover) at first, but it did wonders to not thin out the flavor. I chose to be heavy handed on the seasoning and used "Tuscan Blend" - a bread dipper mix from Oil and Vinegar. It was *awesome*. Even my three and 1 1/2 year old liked it and I really thought they'd think it was disgusting! For some other additions, I added a pound of baby bella mushrooms and sauteed that at the beginning. I used grape tomatoes instead of the diced tomatoes to add a little bit of sweetness into the mix. I didn't slice them or anything. I wanted the tomato juice to stay in tact within their skins. One last thing, I admit I un-vegetarianed it by added chicken base instead of vegetable bouillons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I admit I am a kale addict. I especially love the smooth leaf although it is not as available as the curly leaf. Having said that I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This soup is so delicious. I made this recipe for my son's preschool class and most of the kids wanted seconds and some wanted thirds. It was such a big hit that around 5 or 6 moms called me to tell me that their child came home talking about the soup and so they wanted the recipe. The moms could not believe how much their kids loved such a healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Since I had a bag of fresh kale on hand, I came to All Recipes looking for a recipe I use it in. I chose this recipe because of the reviews and because I had the ingredients on hand. I was not disappointed. This was a very tasty soup. I reduced the oil by half, and only used one large potato. That was plenty of potato for my tastes. Everything else I kept exactly as written and it was a very hearty soup. My one suggestion would be to cook it longer. Next time I will leave out the potatoes and beans for about 45 minutes. Then I will add them and cook for another 45 minutes. I just found my kale to be too tough after about 45 minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States