Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very nice. A simple, warm winter's soup with an earthy flavor. Don't forget to add a healthy bit of pepper to it while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PRINCESSBRAT
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I am on a strict naturopathic diet at the moment and cannot have potatoes, legumes, sugar or additives. So I replaced the potatoes and beans with carrots, celery, zucchini. I used a vegetable broth instead of water and bouillon, and a 28 oz can of tomatoes instead of 14. Lots of little changes you can make, but kale is the important part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
A friend of mine gave me a bunch of kale out of his garden. I did not know what to do with kale so I went to the internet looking for ideas. I found this recipe. I decided to try it. I did make a couple of changes. Since we are not vegetarians I added some meat from a few beef ribs that I pressure cooked. Instead of cannellini beans I used pinto beans because that was all I had. I added one large carrot cut into bite size pieces. I used six cups of chicken broth and two cups of broth from the ribs I pressured. I cut back on the Italian seasoning. It turned out wonderful. My husband liked it before I was even finished putting it together and the next day it was really delicious. I defintely will be making this recipe again. Next time I might try a different green like collards or turnip greens just to see if it will be as good with other kinds of greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Really good and very healthy....I only used one potato because I didnt want all the starch and carbs.....I also used a quart jar of homemade diced tomatoes that were made on the spicy side with a jalapeno that someone had made me from their garden. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I had a house full of sick people over Christmas, including a couple vegetarians. This soup is fantastic "I'm sick and I need soup" soup. I left a pot of it on the stove and people arose at different times and they hovered over their bowl in peace. Everyone loved it, even the few (me) who weren't sick. Only change was veggie stock for water and buillion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe, I make it about twice a month. My two tweaks: 1. Cut down on the veggie bouillon by 2 cubes, you don't even miss it. 2. More kale and less potatoes. I prefer hardier soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is wonderful! The only thing I added was some red wine vinegar and topped my bowls with some fresh grated Asiago Cheese, YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
A hit with everyone at the table, even the kids who turn their noses up at veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Did not change anything and this was absolutely delicious. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Amazing! Only modifications were using vegetable broth rather than water and bouillon cubes, sweet potatoes rather than white and one can mixed beans and one can navy beans. Oh, and I used a 19 ounce can of stewed whole tomatoes and chopped them myself. Best soup I've ever made- even my picky toddler and preschooler liked it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States