Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This turned out great for me at home! It was a very filling soup for a chilly day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
So easy...made it on the spur of the moment one evening since I had all the ingredients on hand. Made it exactly per recipe with no changes needed. My family loved it! Will definitely be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Satisfactory. Full of vegetable goodness. Healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This recipe gets 5 stars simply for the versatility and forgiving nature. Substitute away, folks! I suddenly remembered I had a bunch of kale in my fridge from the CSA (darn "crisper" drawers, keeping my veggies out of sight/mind, lol!) The kale was pretty limp, so I figured chucking it into some soup was the way to go. I also had half a bag of baby carrots and half a bag of fresh green beans that needed to be used up so voila! I didn't have potatoes or any kind of beans on hand (besides the green beans) but everything tasted lovely anyway. I Used a 32oz container of chicken broth, plus 4 cups of water and some vegetable and chicken boullion to bring the liquid to 8 cups. Whatever, worked just fine. used a combo of herbs de provence and italian seasoning, so as not to have too much oregano flavoring. Used one huge tomato from the CSA instead of a can of diced. Also added a few splashes of louisiana hot sauce, not for heat, but because I thought it would add a nice dimension, and I'm glad I did it. It all came together so nicely. I really appreciated the texture and heartiness that the kale provided. It doesn't wilt down to mush like spinach would. Served with a rustic italian bread on the side, for sopping up broth. Awesome! I will make this again, and I'm sure no 2 batches will ever be the same. I am ok with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy, good, hearty, flexible, just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Great soup, I make batches on Sundays and jar them for my lunchs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly and I found it watery and bland. I used organ veg broth in cartons, 8 cups as the recipe says. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I LOVED it.! I was looking for something that reminded me of my mom's Kale soup. When I was young, Kale from the garden was brought in for this soup and my job was to finger through all those curley edges to remove the little worms. Took forEVAH! (at least from a ten Y O's viewpoint) I was NEVER going to make Kale soup as an adult when I had choices. Oh Well. I was also never going to say, "do it because I said so" -anyway- recipe exact, except I replace the potatoes with 6 large, scrubbed (not peeled) parsnips. HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe just this afternoon to use up some fresh kale. Oh boy am I glad I did! Very tasty broth and filling with good for you superfood kale and protein packed beans. Delicious, even my fussy husband tried it because it smelled so yummy. He thought it was "PDG" Pretty Darn Good! I will definitely make again, maybe changing it up a bit by replacing the beans with barley or tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States