Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was the best soup!!!! Five stars without a doubt! i don't like italian seasoning, so I didn't add it I love kale so i added more than the recipe requires. Everything else was pretty amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Holy moly. I was looking for a recipe to use up some kale I had and am so glad I chose this one! It was even better the second day. I didn't have regular diced tomatoes and used fire-roasted diced instead, and the heat was nice. Also didn't have cannellinis and substituted black-eyed peas. I'm making it again tonight, this time with a nice fresh tomato and pink beans. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Easy, cheap and massive! I made this last night and had to transfer from a large pot to my largest soup pot, by the time I added the cannelini beans. Lesson 1, use a huge pot! My husband is NOT a kale fan, but he loved this and even packed a large bowl for his lunch today. Changes I made: 1. I don't use MSG, so instead of Knorr bouillon + water, I used 8 c. of veggie broth (can use homemade or a good, cheap version like Trader Joe's). I generously added Trocomare (organic leek/celery) salt as well as sea salt to help with flavor. 2. I didn't peel the potatoes before cubing and they were delicious. Changes I'll make next time: 1. Add a bay leaf; 2. Half the dried parsley from 2 Tbsp down to 1 Tbsp. A wonderful soup recipe and an easy way to eat the superfood kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I made it with kidney beans because those were the only ones I had on hand, and I think the substitution worked well. So good I ate the huge pot of soup by myself in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This soup is so delicious. I made this recipe for my son's preschool class and most of the kids wanted seconds and some wanted thirds. It was such a big hit that around 5 or 6 moms called me to tell me that their child came home talking about the soup and so they wanted the recipe. The moms could not believe how much their kids loved such a healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is sooo delicious and healthy!! I used a little more kale. I think this recipe would be even better with chickpeas instead of white beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
this soup was amazing!!! five stars definately. the only thing i did differently was not use the boullion cubes, i couldnt find them so i just used a thick base. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I admit I am a kale addict. I especially love the smooth leaf although it is not as available as the curly leaf. Having said that I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Um, yum! This soups an amazingly rich flavor! I *forgot* to add the beans (lol), but it still tasted great. I was scared by the amount of kale (a lot) and water (just enough for cover) at first, but it did wonders to not thin out the flavor. I chose to be heavy handed on the seasoning and used "Tuscan Blend" - a bread dipper mix from Oil and Vinegar. It was *awesome*. Even my three and 1 1/2 year old liked it and I really thought they'd think it was disgusting! For some other additions, I added a pound of baby bella mushrooms and sauteed that at the beginning. I used grape tomatoes instead of the diced tomatoes to add a little bit of sweetness into the mix. I didn't slice them or anything. I wanted the tomato juice to stay in tact within their skins. One last thing, I admit I un-vegetarianed it by added chicken base instead of vegetable bouillons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States