Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I used sweet potato instead of potato. Worked out very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
4 WW points per cup!! Was looking for something interesting to create and this popped up on the welcome screen. Told the family that this is what's for dinner. 16 yr old was open to the idea, hub is addicted to meat so he was a harder sell. So quick and easy to make, hardly dirtied anything. Cubed the potatoes really small so some broke up to give it a creamy texture. I used 2 full cans of the cannellini beans so that was about 40 oz and doubled the kale - next time MORE kale :) Ended up with an 18 cup pot (for all you WW out there). Of course this will vary but it won't be much less. Son had 2 bowls, hub said "tasty" and didn't miss the meat :) Will definitely make this again and again an again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlstadt, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
A nice, light soup on a chilly winter day. I used thinly sliced sweet potatoes and vegetable stock instead of the regular potatoes and bouillon. I also added a half teaspoon of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Very good, I made some home made vegetable stock instead 'cuz I always save my trimmings,and it's a lot better for u,no MSG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricrocs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I was looking for a different way to use the Kale that I had on hand. I had all of the ingredients for this soup so I decided to make it...DELICIOUS!!! Will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
FANTASTIC!!!!! I have to make a double batch each time! I substitute chopped garlic from a jar in the produce section and mini carrots instead of the beans. Just love it and so very easy to make. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I love kale, but sadly the bunch I purchased for this soup was moldy so I was forced to sub spinach. All the same, this soup was was still tasty although the kale would have given it more texture. I used a 2.1oz carton of Knorr's vegetable bouillon (6 extra large cubes), 7 cups of water, and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis for some heat. Once the potatoes were tender I turned the heat off and added the beans as the soup was cooling in order to prevent them from becoming too mushy. I let this sit in the fridge overnight as I do with most of my soups/stews. A perfect vegetarian soup - just in time for Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very nice. A simple, warm winter's soup with an earthy flavor. Don't forget to add a healthy bit of pepper to it while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PRINCESSBRAT
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I am on a strict naturopathic diet at the moment and cannot have potatoes, legumes, sugar or additives. So I replaced the potatoes and beans with carrots, celery, zucchini. I used a vegetable broth instead of water and bouillon, and a 28 oz can of tomatoes instead of 14. Lots of little changes you can make, but kale is the important part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
A friend of mine gave me a bunch of kale out of his garden. I did not know what to do with kale so I went to the internet looking for ideas. I found this recipe. I decided to try it. I did make a couple of changes. Since we are not vegetarians I added some meat from a few beef ribs that I pressure cooked. Instead of cannellini beans I used pinto beans because that was all I had. I added one large carrot cut into bite size pieces. I used six cups of chicken broth and two cups of broth from the ribs I pressured. I cut back on the Italian seasoning. It turned out wonderful. My husband liked it before I was even finished putting it together and the next day it was really delicious. I defintely will be making this recipe again. Next time I might try a different green like collards or turnip greens just to see if it will be as good with other kinds of greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States