Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Yum! I was a bit concerned about the ingredients pairing together well, but I really enjoyed this soup! It's really easy to make and very filling. I did make a few modifications based on preference and ingredient availability: I used 2 large potatoes and that was more than enough for me (the soup was packed with potatoes) and I used 8 c veggie broth instead of water and veggie bouillon. I think I'll also add another can of beans next time. I also wish the amount of kale required would have been more specific. My grocery store only had the bagged kale so I had to guess on the amount. I ended up using probably 5-6 cups of kale and I'll likely add more next time. Anyways, great recipe that I will make again and even my meat-loving, soup-hating husband seemed to enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I love this soup! It is easy and very tasty. I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was easy and excellent. I didn't have potatoes, so I added extra beans (rinsed) and tomatoes. Feel free to use vegetable stock if you don't have bullion cubes. I simmered for an hour. Keeps very well in the fridge; can't wait to share with friends and bring to work potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
loooooove this recipe. a great vegan stew, and a simply delicious way to utilize kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is my go-to veggie soup in fall and winter. I usually tweak it a bit by adding more or less of what I like. I tend to use chicken stock for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InfiniteChaos42
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made it, but I modified it a little bit. I added celery and carrots to the mix to add a little more color, and I used some cumin and oregano to bring out the flavor a little more. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I really liked this dish! I substituted turnips for the potatoes to cut out some carbs, and it was delicious! If you use the big purple turnips make sure you peel then first because the skins can be bitter. That was the only change I made. Great soup. Use a really big pot! I think ham or bacon/pancetta would be a great addition to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Agualo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This soup is hearty and delicious. Most folks who don't like kale will love this soup I swear. I didn't have potatoes on hand so I used pasta-any kind is fine, toward the last 10 minutes or so. I like to serve this soup with some great hard crusty bread on a winter's night. I have shared this recipe with many and all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very easy and very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
super easy, j and c loved it. used beef bouillon instead of veggie and carrots instead of potatoes. also used more kale, (1/2 bag of pre washed kale) probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States