Vegetarian Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Hi- I'd just like to say that this recipe needs to be a little more tomatoey. And as long as you finish with enough salt, it's really tasty and good! What I did was add a jar of pasta sauce to the recipe. It turned out really good with the extra tomato-ness. I also had to use vegetable broth because I couldn't find vegetable boullion cubes. My neighbor had a ton of kale from his garden so this soup is what I did with the big old bag of it that he gave us. And you can really use a ton of kale because it cooks right down. I had a big mixing bowl full to the top with kale and it reduced to less than 1/4 its size. Great soup, I'll do it again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Keys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Great, but was a little bland initially for our taste at first. Added lime and red vinegar, and was improved immensely and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Easy to make and overall it has a good taste. I tried this because it is what I had in my fridge and because I am trying to eat healthier. When I ate it the first night it seemed bland, but the second day for leftovers it was able to really mix the flavors over night and tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
We love this soup but add hot sausage to add taste. It's a big hit served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K. Tague

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Hardy soup with lots of flavor! Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I used vegetable stock instead of bouillon cubes and used on three potatoes. My daughter who is not a fan of soups or kale, had seconds. This recipe is a keeper. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I loved this recipe with a few variations. I used Vegetable broth instead of bouillon cubes and a small can of tomato paste instead of tomatoes, which I don't like. I also added tumeric, curry powder and sriracha sauce to give it more flavor. Taste even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This has a good taste. I did feel there needed to be more than just Italian seasoning in it so I experimented with both garlic and onion powder. BUT there is way too much food in this recipe! I cut potatoes down to two large ones and kept skin on. I added only one can beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Scullark
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I used organic vege broth instead of bouillon cubes. It came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This soup was very good. However, I did add extra garlic and my own blend of Italian seasoning. Delicious in bread bowls from Panera Bread Co. Call ahead and they will have them ready for you--already cut! My only complaint about this soup is that the kale was still a bit tough after cooking. Maybe the kale I bought was a little overgrown, rather than young and tender... Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States