Vegetarian Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This recipe as written really lacks flavor. I followed the recipe exactly as written and am very disappointed. After it was all cooked I added more chili powder, spanish paprika, and 2 extra cans of chili's. The spinach should be added 10 minutes before the recipe is done. The recipe also calls for too much water. It could use more corn, beans, and less potato to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and I love it! I add a can of Rotel and extra fresh green chili or at the least frozen but never canned chili, extra beans and it's great! Have with a warm fresh tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I added kielbasa and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I love that it's vegetarian, but 5 cups of water is too much. I eyeballed it as I was adding it and stopped at 3, and I believe that was plenty. Otherwise, it would have been too watered-down. We don't find green chiles to be spicy, and would add diced jalapenos for added kick. Tomatoes would be a nice addition also. Served it with garlic toast and my family enjoyed it. Meat eaters could easily add chicken or ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Always looking for delicious recipes that incorporate lots of vegies. This recipe is delicious as is...although I like to add a can or two of salsa verde (found in the Mexican cooking section) in place of the green chilis for extra bite. Also is great used as a chicken recipe. Today I had extra cooked chicken breasts so I used chicken broth in place of vegetable broth and put in my cubed chicken. I also add extra onion and garlic and today I had extra spaghetti squash and no yellow squash. I put in whatever I had. Great northern beans, frozen soup vegetables, and the rest was the same. My family loves it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
i didn't care for this ... needs more depth. just tastes like green chiles. which are not that good alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great starting-off point, but I like my stew thicker and containing tomatoes. I'd suggest the following changes: 1 can of HOT green chiles instead of 3, 1 entire onion, use 2-3 zucchini instead of a squash (or use both), corn is optional, add 3 diced large tomatoes or a can of diced tomatoes, and use approximately 5 cups (1 liter) of vegetable broth (or 1 Tablespoon of vegetable bouillon powder in 5 cups or 1 liter of water) for liquid, in total. It doesn't need 7 cups of liquid. Kidney beans can be used if pinto beans are not available. Half a package of frozen spinach, if fresh is not available. If you like REALLY thick stew, remove some of the potatoes near the end of cooking, blend in blender or food processor, and add back to the stew. Salt to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I thought it was kinda short on flavor.. I added extra green chiles. I'd say 2 more cans of green chiles atleast. 1-2 cups less water, more spices 1/2 tsp of each but paprika and 3/4 tsp of cumin.. I left the spaghetti squash put and it was awesome! and cilantro a dash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is just a great Vegetable Stew! I make this all the time. I always have different veggies depending on the squash I can get. Turnip, parsnip, sweet potatoes, yams they are all work well in the mix. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great!!! I added a little extra garlic and a little extra chili powder (we like it spicy). I also added sliced mushrooms...just because they are my favorite. I thought 5 cups of water might have been too much. So, I put 4 cups of water and 3 cups of vegetable broth. It was soooo good. I will be using this again for sure. You can play around with the vegetables, but it is wonderful and has a great flavor. Really glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States