Vegetarian Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Really good recipe...I didn't have any squash but it's still very filling and a meal in itself. I also didn't have the right amount of chiles but had some green enchilada sauce on hand. I used small red potatoes and celery salt intead of celery (not a big fan of celery!). I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I added kielbasa and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great!!! I added a little extra garlic and a little extra chili powder (we like it spicy). I also added sliced mushrooms...just because they are my favorite. I thought 5 cups of water might have been too much. So, I put 4 cups of water and 3 cups of vegetable broth. It was soooo good. I will be using this again for sure. You can play around with the vegetables, but it is wonderful and has a great flavor. Really glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is just a great Vegetable Stew! I make this all the time. I always have different veggies depending on the squash I can get. Turnip, parsnip, sweet potatoes, yams they are all work well in the mix. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Always looking for delicious recipes that incorporate lots of vegies. This recipe is delicious as is...although I like to add a can or two of salsa verde (found in the Mexican cooking section) in place of the green chilis for extra bite. Also is great used as a chicken recipe. Today I had extra cooked chicken breasts so I used chicken broth in place of vegetable broth and put in my cubed chicken. I also add extra onion and garlic and today I had extra spaghetti squash and no yellow squash. I put in whatever I had. Great northern beans, frozen soup vegetables, and the rest was the same. My family loves it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and I love it! I add a can of Rotel and extra fresh green chili or at the least frozen but never canned chili, extra beans and it's great! Have with a warm fresh tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Nice meal to bring for work lunches. Filling, yet lighter in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
yum! This is really different--good with the tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I love that it's vegetarian, but 5 cups of water is too much. I eyeballed it as I was adding it and stopped at 3, and I believe that was plenty. Otherwise, it would have been too watered-down. We don't find green chiles to be spicy, and would add diced jalapenos for added kick. Tomatoes would be a nice addition also. Served it with garlic toast and my family enjoyed it. Meat eaters could easily add chicken or ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I tried this and now I have it at least once a week. It's a large pot of stew for 2 so I freeze the rest for the following week. I also add only 1 can of green chile peppers to each 1/2 batch right before heating it up. This is sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States