Vegetarian Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
yum! This is really different--good with the tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Really good recipe...I didn't have any squash but it's still very filling and a meal in itself. I also didn't have the right amount of chiles but had some green enchilada sauce on hand. I used small red potatoes and celery salt intead of celery (not a big fan of celery!). I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I though this stew was very good. I needed more salt. I would also use three potatoes instead of four, and add another can of beans. Plus I would use half the amount of water. The flavor was very good though. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this for a new mom who was craving a "root vegetable stew" for a cold winter's night. Because she had a yen for something more than just potatoes, I used one potato, one sweet potato, one parsnip, and one rutabaga/turnip. No corn. I asked her to report back to me with a review: she said it was great, just what she wanted, nice spice level (used two cans, not three) and she threw in a can of drained chick peas with the leftovers because it worked for her! Thanks Mrs. Hinman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great!!! I added a little extra garlic and a little extra chili powder (we like it spicy). I also added sliced mushrooms...just because they are my favorite. I thought 5 cups of water might have been too much. So, I put 4 cups of water and 3 cups of vegetable broth. It was soooo good. I will be using this again for sure. You can play around with the vegetables, but it is wonderful and has a great flavor. Really glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is just a great Vegetable Stew! I make this all the time. I always have different veggies depending on the squash I can get. Turnip, parsnip, sweet potatoes, yams they are all work well in the mix. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I thought it was kinda short on flavor.. I added extra green chiles. I'd say 2 more cans of green chiles atleast. 1-2 cups less water, more spices 1/2 tsp of each but paprika and 3/4 tsp of cumin.. I left the spaghetti squash put and it was awesome! and cilantro a dash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great starting-off point, but I like my stew thicker and containing tomatoes. I'd suggest the following changes: 1 can of HOT green chiles instead of 3, 1 entire onion, use 2-3 zucchini instead of a squash (or use both), corn is optional, add 3 diced large tomatoes or a can of diced tomatoes, and use approximately 5 cups (1 liter) of vegetable broth (or 1 Tablespoon of vegetable bouillon powder in 5 cups or 1 liter of water) for liquid, in total. It doesn't need 7 cups of liquid. Kidney beans can be used if pinto beans are not available. Half a package of frozen spinach, if fresh is not available. If you like REALLY thick stew, remove some of the potatoes near the end of cooking, blend in blender or food processor, and add back to the stew. Salt to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
i didn't care for this ... needs more depth. just tastes like green chiles. which are not that good alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Always looking for delicious recipes that incorporate lots of vegies. This recipe is delicious as is...although I like to add a can or two of salsa verde (found in the Mexican cooking section) in place of the green chilis for extra bite. Also is great used as a chicken recipe. Today I had extra cooked chicken breasts so I used chicken broth in place of vegetable broth and put in my cubed chicken. I also add extra onion and garlic and today I had extra spaghetti squash and no yellow squash. I put in whatever I had. Great northern beans, frozen soup vegetables, and the rest was the same. My family loves it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States