Vegetarian Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Nice meal to bring for work lunches. Filling, yet lighter in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I tried this and now I have it at least once a week. It's a large pot of stew for 2 so I freeze the rest for the following week. I also add only 1 can of green chile peppers to each 1/2 batch right before heating it up. This is sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This recipe as written really lacks flavor. I followed the recipe exactly as written and am very disappointed. After it was all cooked I added more chili powder, spanish paprika, and 2 extra cans of chili's. The spinach should be added 10 minutes before the recipe is done. The recipe also calls for too much water. It could use more corn, beans, and less potato to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and I love it! I add a can of Rotel and extra fresh green chili or at the least frozen but never canned chili, extra beans and it's great! Have with a warm fresh tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I added kielbasa and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I love that it's vegetarian, but 5 cups of water is too much. I eyeballed it as I was adding it and stopped at 3, and I believe that was plenty. Otherwise, it would have been too watered-down. We don't find green chiles to be spicy, and would add diced jalapenos for added kick. Tomatoes would be a nice addition also. Served it with garlic toast and my family enjoyed it. Meat eaters could easily add chicken or ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Always looking for delicious recipes that incorporate lots of vegies. This recipe is delicious as is...although I like to add a can or two of salsa verde (found in the Mexican cooking section) in place of the green chilis for extra bite. Also is great used as a chicken recipe. Today I had extra cooked chicken breasts so I used chicken broth in place of vegetable broth and put in my cubed chicken. I also add extra onion and garlic and today I had extra spaghetti squash and no yellow squash. I put in whatever I had. Great northern beans, frozen soup vegetables, and the rest was the same. My family loves it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
i didn't care for this ... needs more depth. just tastes like green chiles. which are not that good alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great starting-off point, but I like my stew thicker and containing tomatoes. I'd suggest the following changes: 1 can of HOT green chiles instead of 3, 1 entire onion, use 2-3 zucchini instead of a squash (or use both), corn is optional, add 3 diced large tomatoes or a can of diced tomatoes, and use approximately 5 cups (1 liter) of vegetable broth (or 1 Tablespoon of vegetable bouillon powder in 5 cups or 1 liter of water) for liquid, in total. It doesn't need 7 cups of liquid. Kidney beans can be used if pinto beans are not available. Half a package of frozen spinach, if fresh is not available. If you like REALLY thick stew, remove some of the potatoes near the end of cooking, blend in blender or food processor, and add back to the stew. Salt to taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I thought it was kinda short on flavor.. I added extra green chiles. I'd say 2 more cans of green chiles atleast. 1-2 cups less water, more spices 1/2 tsp of each but paprika and 3/4 tsp of cumin.. I left the spaghetti squash put and it was awesome! and cilantro a dash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States