Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by sns
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I made this to go with veggie-meatloaf (seitan) and mashed potatoes. I substituted fake chicken broth (made from Whole Foods fake chicken bouillon cubes). I didn't have sage, so I just put in some all purpose seasoning. Tasted great! Note: this turned out much thicker than other gravy recipes I've used in the past -- this is not necessarily a bad thing but may be useful to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I'm vegan and my husband is not, so when I needed a gravy recipe that satisfied both of us this was the perfect choice. I didn't change anything in the recipe but I did forget the black pepper on accident. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Best gravy ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I have never made gravy before and this is DELICIOUS!! :) A must try. I am not a vegetarian...it doesn't taste any different from "regular" gravy. Quick, easy and oh so tasty. As for consistency it was a little thick so I just kept adding vegetable broth...it's perfect. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Excellent! Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Really good, but wayyy too salty. I am going to halve the soy sauce next time and not add any extra salt. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, low sodium soy sauce, and omitted the sage since I didn't have any. Besides the overpowering saltiness, this recipe was really easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was great and my meat eaters didn't even notice it was vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
It's gravy, baby. This gravy is off-the-charts good. Packed with so much flavor, Flava Flav would be jelly. This beats the socks off anyyy non-veg gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I added crumbled tofu (frozen, then thawed/pressed and crumbled up) to make a faux meaty gravy. Came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
for a longtime vegetarian it was a treat to have such delicious gravy again.. i made this recipe with a few changes - instead of yeast i used some cornstarch, and instead of sage i used basil. i also didn't use nearly as much salt as requested, and i think next time i will cut back a wee bit on the soy sauce. it was slightly too salty for me. but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States