Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
SO SALTY! Do not add salt. I had to add a ton of water and then wine to try and break the extreme soy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliah Marzolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My thanks to all of the other reviewers. I took your recommendations and incorporated the following changes: 1/4 cup veg oil; 1/4 cup flour; no nutritional yeast; 3 tablespoons light soy; 1 1/2 cups veg broth; no extra salt. Used a sifter while adding the flour and ended up with no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is terrific gravy! After reading the reviews, I only used 2 tablespoons of oil. I added 1 rib of celery, no nutritional yeast and only used 1 glove of garlic. I used immersion blender to smooth it after it cooked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great vegetarian alternative to regular gravy; however, keep extra vegetable stock on hand because it tends to be thick and you might need to add extra stock to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Based on reviews, I only used 1/4 cup each of olive oil & flour and I reduced the soy sauce to 2 Tablespoons. I also added 1/2 cup of white wine just before adding in the broth, as well as some thyme. If the gravy is too thick, just thin it out with additional broth... I added an extra cup. The result was delicious! Best gravy I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this last year for a vegetarian at my thanksgiving, she hadn't had gravy and potatoes in over 20 years and was so incredibly happy. I didn't use the nutritional yeast I just made it taste good because that's what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This gravy is delicious! I discovered this recipe a few years ago, and it has been a Thanksgiving staple ever since! You can make a big batch of it and freeze some for a later date. Hint: I get my nutritional yeast at Central Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise_crash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This gravy is delicious. I've made it a few times and tweeked it based on the reviews I read. I reduced the oil and flour to 1/4 cup. I'm the vegetarian of the family, but my meat eating relatives prefer this gravy over their traditional turkey gravy. I've also prepared it with mushrooms added to the onion. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheHejnyHouse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
We have made this a few years in a row now! It's a big hit here the only things we have changed is adding a no-chicken chicken broth instead of vegetable. And instead of the usual amount of soy sauce we do 2 teaspoons of soy sauce and 2 teaspoons of gravy master!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States