Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
SUPER YUMMY!! I served it at dry run Thanksgiving dinner with friends and everyone LOVED it, meat eater or not. I added mushrooms when I sauted the onion and garlic. I did have to cook much longer as noted by another reader. I could not find the nutritional yeast so I made it without. I made 4x the recipe and substituted half of the oil for butter. Savory, flavorful and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this a few years agoon Thanksgiving to go with my homemade Tofurkey. Even the guests who were eating real turkey preferred this vegetarian gravy to the broth-based gravy. It is SO good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I take this to an annual Thanksgiving party and people love it. I followed the receipe exactly and have always had great luck for the past 6 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Turned out tastier than the non-vegetarian gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksolveig

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Awesome! I wanted a vegan gravy, and this was easily veganized by subbing butter for a vegan substitute. I didn't follow the recipe perfectly - probably used half a cup more broth since I had a big frozen jar, used olive oil instead of vegetable, and added some diced up mushrooms I needed to use up. It came out exceptional. The last part of stirring in the flour is key - don't get lazy. I had to whip it up for a while to get all the flour worked it. It was still a little thin so I added a touch more and some corn starch. This is a really good baseline recipe to use - you can totally modify it with certain spices to lend to particular recipes. It also stood out well on its own. Reheating is a bit tricky, I found adding a splash of water and stirring it in helped bring back a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OOOooooooh, exactly what I wanted, tasted awesome! I didn't have the nutritional yeast so omitted that, plan on getting some though because it sounds good. Used thyme instead of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe to the letter b/c, well, I never do...lol..BUT, this was absolutely amazing!!! as soon as I opened the soy sauce, I knew it was going to be a hit & it was!!! my girls are able to enjoy "beef" stew again!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I followed the recipe to the letter, except I cut back on the garlic just a bit & I used vegan chik'n bouillon + water for the vegetable broth. It was so easy & quick to make, and the results were just amazingly delicious. Vegans & meat-eaters alike LOVE this recipe! It doubles nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Finally! A vegetarian gravy that tastes good and that I successfully made! I eat dairy so instead of oil I used 2 TABLESPOONS of BUTTER, and only 2 TABLESPOONS of FLOUR. The consistency was perfect and the flavor was amazing. Next time I think I will start with half of the soy and add more if needed, and I didn't add the extra 1/2 tsp salt. It was a little on the salty side, but that could have been due to the broth brand used. I will definitely make this for my Quorn "Turkey" log and potatoes for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I am a vegetarian and have been on an endless trek to find a good veggie gravy. I was very excited to try this based on its good reviews but I was sooo disappointed. I tried incorporating the other reviewers tips - using butter instead of oil; cutting down both the butter and flour to 1/4 cup; omitting the salt due to using regular soya sauce... I'm a big garlic fan but was suspicious about 5 cloves, but, against my better judgement, I went ahead and threw them all in and MAN - it was WAAY too garlicy. And coming from me, that should tell you something. It probably didn't need more than 2 cloves. Even besides that, I thought it tasted a bit "funky". I may try to play around with this more in the future, but for now I'm back to my powdered organic veggie gravy packets I buy at the grocery store...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States