Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
What a surprise! The gravy is good! But the recipe calls for much too much flour as it thickens the gravy into a heavy mush. Also, I had no nutritional yeast and it didn't seem to make any difference. I'd do this again using less than 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We have been vegetarians for over 2 years now and this is my first time trying out a gravy--- this is by FAR the best gravy I have ever tasted--meat or otherwise--AMAZING. I suggest adding at least 1 more cup of water, though! I added 1/2 cup and it was still too thick, but delicious! I also added one pinch of rosemary. Other than that followed it to the tee. SO delicious. My husband and 3 year old also devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This gravy was fantastic, I made it with Tofurkey for Thanksgiving, and it was a hit with everyone including the meat lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent. The family loved it. I cooked chicken that didn't generate enough fat to make gravy, so this was the perfect alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent gravy. Like others had said it would have been too thick as is. I used less oil and then forgot to use less flour. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of water. If I hadn't it would have been too salty. End result is delicious. If I need gravy this is my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made this gravy for Thanksgiving. I doubled it, but used only 2 tablespoons of oil for sauteing the onions and garlic. It came out perfect and was so easy to make. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This gravy is incredible!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! My meat-loving dad liked it as much as his own famous gravy- a pretty good indication of how amazing this is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wow! This gravy was amazing! No matter if you're a vegetarian or not this gravy is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this to go with our traditional Thanksgiving dinner, and it was great! Even my kids liked it (a sure test of a new recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a mighty fine basic recipe for vegetarian gravy. I didn't have nutritional yeast on hand, so I left it out. The flavor was great anyway. I replaced half the oil with butter and did not have the oil pooling problem some of the other reviewers mention. Also, I will use half the amount of flour called for next time. Using the amount called for in the recipe left me with a gravy jello once the gravy cooled. I had to reheat it and whisk in an additional can of broth to thin it out enough to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States