Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent. The family loved it. I cooked chicken that didn't generate enough fat to make gravy, so this was the perfect alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Excellent gravy. Like others had said it would have been too thick as is. I used less oil and then forgot to use less flour. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of water. If I hadn't it would have been too salty. End result is delicious. If I need gravy this is my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made this gravy for Thanksgiving. I doubled it, but used only 2 tablespoons of oil for sauteing the onions and garlic. It came out perfect and was so easy to make. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This gravy is incredible!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! My meat-loving dad liked it as much as his own famous gravy- a pretty good indication of how amazing this is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wow! This gravy was amazing! No matter if you're a vegetarian or not this gravy is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this to go with our traditional Thanksgiving dinner, and it was great! Even my kids liked it (a sure test of a new recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a mighty fine basic recipe for vegetarian gravy. I didn't have nutritional yeast on hand, so I left it out. The flavor was great anyway. I replaced half the oil with butter and did not have the oil pooling problem some of the other reviewers mention. Also, I will use half the amount of flour called for next time. Using the amount called for in the recipe left me with a gravy jello once the gravy cooled. I had to reheat it and whisk in an additional can of broth to thin it out enough to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving, and most of our group liked it better than the turkey gravy. I did not have nutritional yeast, and may have accidentally added more sage than called for. The only thing I will change next time is to add less sage, and hopefully will have nutritional yeast on hand to try it the way the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Amazing gravy! Everyone at my Thanksgiving table loved it. Thank you, Becky!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I whipped this up after seeing that all "mushroom" gravys in the store contained beef fat - I was loathe to make a gravy, I really don't enjoy the process but this turned out lovely. I halved the recipe (I'm the only veg at my table) but needed about 1.5 cups of broth instead of just one and it's still pretty thick. I also took someone else's suggestion of skipping the oil and using butter instead (I used Earth Balance) - there is no separation of the finished product and it tastes divine! I also skipped the yeast because apparently my supply had been hosting a family in my cupboard and was no longer able to be eaten - oh well... even little beetle-things need to eat on Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States