Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Nutritional yeast is key to this recipe. If you don't have that, don't bother. I've made this recipe for the last 5 years and no one can believe it's a vegetarian gravy. Always a hit. I do like to blend it up before serving to make a smooth gravy though, and I only use about half the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This gravy was a great substitute for turkey gravy! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, light tamari sauce instead of light soy sauce, and I did not add the nutritional yeast. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was okay. I should have tried it before serving it at Thanksgiving. All you could taste was soy sauce. I even used the lite kind. I followed the recipe exactly. If I was to make it again I would definitely use a lot less soy sauce, or maybe omit it. Even with 5 cloves of garlic all you can taste is soy sauce. I do have to say the texture is spot on. Super smooth, glossy, and it kept well (not very much got eaten so I had a lot of leftover gravy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Hamaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet. I plan to soon but adding Bragg Liquid Aminos (a vegetarian soy sauce alternative). I use it to make gravy because it tastes even "meatier" than soy sauce. The nutritional yeast is excellent for making dishes "cheesier". I use it for making cheese sauce for my vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This gravy was delicious tasting. I made the recipe as is but it was way too thick. I kept adding water but it still kept thickening up. Will try again with maybe half the flour and oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
SO SALTY! Do not add salt. I had to add a ton of water and then wine to try and break the extreme soy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliah Marzolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My thanks to all of the other reviewers. I took your recommendations and incorporated the following changes: 1/4 cup veg oil; 1/4 cup flour; no nutritional yeast; 3 tablespoons light soy; 1 1/2 cups veg broth; no extra salt. Used a sifter while adding the flour and ended up with no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is terrific gravy! After reading the reviews, I only used 2 tablespoons of oil. I added 1 rib of celery, no nutritional yeast and only used 1 glove of garlic. I used immersion blender to smooth it after it cooked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great vegetarian alternative to regular gravy; however, keep extra vegetable stock on hand because it tends to be thick and you might need to add extra stock to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Based on reviews, I only used 1/4 cup each of olive oil & flour and I reduced the soy sauce to 2 Tablespoons. I also added 1/2 cup of white wine just before adding in the broth, as well as some thyme. If the gravy is too thick, just thin it out with additional broth... I added an extra cup. The result was delicious! Best gravy I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States