Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The flavour of this gravy is absolutely delicious! I thoroughly enjoyed it! IT is however, EXTREMELY think. I always had to add water when I was reheating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie Charette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Turned out very good with a couple of changes- used 1/3 cup of olive oil to 1/3 cup of flour, as some suggested doing so it wasn't too thick. Also cut the garlic down to about 3 large cloves, as 5 seemed like a lot, even though I love garlic, I have been known to ruin things with too much garlic! I increased the broth to about 4 cups, and decreased the soy sauce to 3 tbsp braggs as it seemed quite salty already with the broth. Added extra sage too, as well as about a 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms- yummy! Great consistency in the end. Was a blob of jelly the next day, but nothing a little water and heat couldn't fix. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This gravy was great for my vegetarian daughter who hasn't had gravy for two years now. It tastes great, so much that I am eating myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
The first time I made this I had to add 3 more cups of broth because it was too thick. The second time I made this I cut the vegetable oil in half and made up for it with butter. Again I had to add 3 more cups of broth but both times it came out very tasty. I made this for my vegetarian wife but the whole family enjoyed it. I would imagine it will be our "go-to" gravy recipe from now on. Oh, and make sure you add the nutritional yeast. It really makes the flavor perfect. It was hard to find in my area but they carry it in bulk at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I tried to like this, I really did. I made it to go with poutine since I'm a vegetarian. I've made it twice and both times, even with subtle changes, I found it too thick and too oily. It doesn't reheat that well either. I think I will use a beef gravy recipe from now on and just use veggie broth instead. It's also super garlic-y and I'm not overly fond of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
this was the best gravy! I didn't have nutritional yeast, and I didn't have vegetable broth so I used chicken broth, but it was delicious, and no lumps! I made it for my dad, who is sick with chemo, and he thought it was wonderful! Next time I will make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twistedsisterl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Better than the real deal in my opinion. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made this recipe for my Permaculture class and everyone LOVED IT. I love it too. My friends who are too picky to try anything new took a little taste, and fell in love. I am not vegetarian, nor are most of the students who ate it (with biscuits) yet compliments abounded. It is an EASY gravy recipe to follow!! This is the first time I have made gravy and even I coudn't mess it up. I did follow other's advice and cut the vegetable oil and flour in half. There was no pooling of oil. I substituted "nutritional yeast" with a tb of cornstarch and added chopped onions. YUMMMMMYYY. A hearty, tasty gravy. Thank you for posting this recipe it wowed my students and peers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is a very good gravy that uses ingredients I usually have in the kitchen. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Thanks so much Becky. As a new vegetarian (about a month), I faced my first real meat craving the other night. I really wanted some comfort food and my mind went right to brown gravy and hamburger. Instead, I made your gravy and it was excellent. The only thing I added, that other posters have also said, was about a cup of water. This gravy got really thick, really quick. However, the taste was excellent and it satisfied my craving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States