Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Wonderful! This has become my staple gravy. I just leave out the nutritional yeast because my husband does not care for the cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
YES, another satisfied Thanksgiving customer! I omitted the soy-sauce, but only because of one guest's soy issues, and it was still perfect. I used broth from a carton (not overly "distinctive" .. or salty like broth in cubes or jars can be) and WONDRA sauce & gravy flour, which is my lump-free secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent flavor! My friends didn't believe that this was vegetarian. I gave it 4 stars because I had some trouble with the flour clumping. Next time I think I'll add the flour after the broth, so that it can dissolve more effectively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Four stars as is, but five after some tweaks. Other reviewers said to use half the oil, and that's a good idea. I used vegetable bouillon instead of stock, and it's quite salty so I omitted the extra salt. I also chopped up what turned out to be a cup and a half (or so) of brown mushrooms, and used low sodium tamari instead of soy sauce. Tasty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Oh, my. So good. I used fresh sage (a couple of tablespoons) and added fresh parsley (3-4 tablespoons) and chopped my onions really fine. I used Better Than Bullion to make the veg broth. I also made this gluten-free by using sweet rice flour. I guess that has more thickening power than flour because I ended up having to add another cup or cup and a half of water to thin it back to the right consistency. I did not have the problem some people had with the oil separating, though. My non-veg, gluten-eating sister preferred this to her turkey gravy at Thanksgiving. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Really fantastic. Better than any turkey gravy I ever made back in my meat-eating days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have to say I was shocked at how good this was. I did reduce the oil and flour to 1/3 cup each. I also used chicken broth (I know, I know, it sort of defeats the point...) and I found it to be a little too salty this way. Next time I will either go for reduced-sodium broth, or skip the additional salt. Still - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was really delicious! I used un-chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, omitted the salt and used poultry seasoning instead of sage because that's what I had on hand. Thank you for the wonderful addition to our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made the recipe exactly as written and it was delicious! It was very rich and thick. The meat eaters we were feeding loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My family insists on this gravy every Thanksgiving ---and we aren't even vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States