Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious! Thanks for all the reviews, here are the alterations I made per the recommendations made. 1/4 cup butter, sauteed the onions, garlic and about 1/2 cup of chopped mushrooms. Omitted the salt completely and halved the soy sauce. Didn't have nutritional yeast, so substituted parmesan cheese. My mashed potatoes will never go gravy-less again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this to go with vegetarian shepherds pie for the 3 kids I look after, 4 7 and 8. They gobbled it up and raved about how much better it is than regular gravy. It makes lots so I think I am going to try out for some poutine later on in the week. I didn't add any extra salt because I used bouillon cubes instead of broth. I also used tamari sauce instead of light soy sauce and left out the sage and black pepper. I added an extra cup of water though in order to get my desire constancy. Turned out great overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very good!! I have been missing a gravy since I went Vegetarian, and this gravy is PERFECT!! I am a very picky eater, and I also wont eat anything with palm oil (or anything that the ingredients have palm oil, because it destroys rain forest to get it). This is PERFECT!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Totally awesome, amazing yumminess. Even meat eaters love this recipe. I add much more garlic and sage than it calls for. I also add some thyme. sooooooo good. Thanx Becky!!! best gravy I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Tasty, but difficult to mix the flour without it clumping. Due to this problem, I ended up ising an entire can of vegetable broth. Came out tasty anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Awesome!!... Just a bit salty for my taste, perhaps one less TB of soy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Made it just as written. Very easy, very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sns
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I made this to go with veggie-meatloaf (seitan) and mashed potatoes. I substituted fake chicken broth (made from Whole Foods fake chicken bouillon cubes). I didn't have sage, so I just put in some all purpose seasoning. Tasted great! Note: this turned out much thicker than other gravy recipes I've used in the past -- this is not necessarily a bad thing but may be useful to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sns

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I'm vegan and my husband is not, so when I needed a gravy recipe that satisfied both of us this was the perfect choice. I didn't change anything in the recipe but I did forget the black pepper on accident. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Best gravy ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States