Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This gravy was AMAZING. Perfect vegan alternative, rich and delicious tasting. Like most people though, I found it a little too thick but if you just add some more water to it you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
AWESOME recipe. I added some seitan chorizo to make it chunkier (I was making biscuits and gravy), but it wasn't necessary. I used a bit less salt because my broth was salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I had tried to make vegetarian gravy twice before this - once from scratch (a lot of effort for an ok gravy) and then another time from a packet (it never thickened). I decided that this recipe would be my final attempt at veggie gravy, before giving up. Wow! This is absolutely fantastic! Sooooo quick and easy to make! We had it with Quorn mince and it was just perfect. My boyfriend is not vegetarian and he really enjoyed it too. I left out the nutritional yeast (not really sure if this is any different to 'normal' yeast?) and the sage, as I didn't have any. I'd agree that it needs more of the broth, but other than that, this is absolutely spot-on. I'm so glad I gave veggie gravy a final try with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
OMG!!! I cannot believe how good this gravy is!!! Next time I will reduce the soy sauce by 1 TBL and omit the salt...This is phenomenal!!! Thank you for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe. I used parmesan cheese as a substitute for the nutritional yeast and it was delicious! I now picked up some yeast and will try it again per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this for my vegetarian brother at Thamksgiving and it was a hit with everyone. This gravy was more popular than our traditional gravy with all the family. This will be on our table every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've used this recipe for several years now - it's so yummy! Sad that someone would give it a poor review when they didn't use all the ingredients :( Nut. yeast does taste delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great recipe. Thought soy sauce would be too much, but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was really good. Probably the best gravy I've ever made. However, I left out the salt--with the soy sauce it was salty enough! Also, didn't use nutritional yeast (didn't have any), and used beef broth instead of vegetable broth (not a vegetarian). Will make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is so yum! I made this to go with Christmas dinner and it turned out amazing! The non-vegetarians at the table didn't think it was a veg gravy and I even got asked for the recipe! I did sub butter instead of the oil and did not add the yeast. This will certainly curb my gravy cravings! Could almost pass as a beef gravy! I think next time I might try to add some sautéed mushrooms to it - I think it would be a nice addition. Or maybe use it as a base for a vegetarian stew. This will be a staple around here now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States