Vegetarian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
WOW! I also cut the flour in half and halved the amount of oil (I used butter). This was the most awesome gravy I have ever tasted. The two non-vegetarians that I was cooking for also could not get over how great it was, and actually asked for the recipe. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
The BEST gravy I have ever had, vegan or otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Vorves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I used rice flour and tamari instead of soy to make it gluten free. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Nutritional yeast is key to this recipe. If you don't have that, don't bother. I've made this recipe for the last 5 years and no one can believe it's a vegetarian gravy. Always a hit. I do like to blend it up before serving to make a smooth gravy though, and I only use about half the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This gravy was a great substitute for turkey gravy! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, light tamari sauce instead of light soy sauce, and I did not add the nutritional yeast. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was okay. I should have tried it before serving it at Thanksgiving. All you could taste was soy sauce. I even used the lite kind. I followed the recipe exactly. If I was to make it again I would definitely use a lot less soy sauce, or maybe omit it. Even with 5 cloves of garlic all you can taste is soy sauce. I do have to say the texture is spot on. Super smooth, glossy, and it kept well (not very much got eaten so I had a lot of leftover gravy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Hamaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have not tried this recipe yet. I plan to soon but adding Bragg Liquid Aminos (a vegetarian soy sauce alternative). I use it to make gravy because it tastes even "meatier" than soy sauce. The nutritional yeast is excellent for making dishes "cheesier". I use it for making cheese sauce for my vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This gravy was delicious tasting. I made the recipe as is but it was way too thick. I kept adding water but it still kept thickening up. Will try again with maybe half the flour and oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
SO SALTY! Do not add salt. I had to add a ton of water and then wine to try and break the extreme soy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliah Marzolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

How to Make Turkey Gravy

See how to make the perfect turkey gravy.

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States